Susie Mc

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Verse and Message (Week of January 13-19, 2013) January 20, 2013

Filed under: Uncategorized — susiemc @ 11:55 pm

HotCoals

Ephesians 4:19

Having lost all sensitivity, they have given themselves over to sensuality so as to indulge in every kind of impurity, and they are full of greed.

John 2:16

For everything in the world—the lust of the flesh, the lust of the eyes, and the pride of life—comes not from the Father but from the world.

desensitize

/dēˈsensiˌtīz/
1.  Make less sensitive.
2.  Make (someone) less likely to feel shock by distress at scenes of cruelty, violence, or suffering by overexposure to such images.
I use Vick’s Vapor Rub….a lot. I use it so much under my nose when I go to sleep, that I hardly feel the refreshing effects of it anymore.  I am immune to the healing power of the salve that initially allowed me to breathe through my nose more effectively while I sleep.
Someone who is abused, doesn’t recognize the abuse after a period of time.  The victim may be so accustomed the abuse that he /she totally overlooks the abuse.
Over the past couple of years, I have heard of more divorce and separations than I have ever known before.  My heart breaks, because I know the pain of divorce.  What messes with me is that I have heard of divorced couples whom I never could imagine anything would tear asunder. Divorce has become the  “norm” in our age.
I rented “The Breakfast Club” for my son several years ago, because I had remembered it to be a fantastic 80’s flick.  Granted, it is comical in parts, BUT it is also rated “R.”  I had totally forgotten that it was restricted. I was desensitized to the rating, because I couldn’t remember how “bad” it really was …”bad” meaning immoral and inappropriate according to God’s rating.
It’s a shame that so many believers have allowed the enemy to get a foothold to the extent, that they brush off things of the world — and thus, become “of the world.”  We all backslide…slip up and fall into the traps of the enemy.  However, we as Christians have the authority to trample on snakes and scorpions. Nothing can harm us, so why would we walk to the edge of the ledge to study the snakes and scorpions. I am not referring to unbelievers as snakes and scorpions, but the enemy and his army work overtime to seduce all mankind, but especially Christians.  Satan doesn’t want those who follow Christ to have an impact. Satan cannot stand for us to be vessels of honor who plant seeds of HOPE to those who don’t know the WAY.  His tactic is to operate in such a way so that Christians become chameleons..blending in with world.  
When we start to blend, we are desensitized to things of the world, and worse, those who don’t know the WAY–don’t see anything DIFFERENT in us.  
There is only ONE protection from desensitization. Being aware and embracing the Holy Spirit is the Answer.  To become sensitive to the Holy Spirit is to become sensitive to things of the world.  When we are not sensitive to the Holy Spirit, we won’t be sensitive to the ideals of the world we live in.  Ways to assist in becoming more sensitive include meditating on the Word of God, communicating with God through prayer (and allowing Him to communicate with us), and spending time with other believers who are sensitive to the Holy Spirit.
Friends, let’s start this year off in the right direction.  If you are desensitized to the things of the world, ask God to work on your sensors.  Remember the familiar “See no evil, speak no evil, and hear no evil.”  Pay attention to what you are watching, what you are saying, and what you are hearing….and you might get a clue how sensitive you are to the Lord.  
Father God,
PLEASE help us.  It’s so easy to be lured into the enemy’s lair.  May we be obedient and consistent to stay in sweet communion with You through prayer and reading Your Word.  Place us with others who seek Your Holy Spirit, so that we can be accountable and know that iron sharpens iron.  Forgive us Lord for all the times we fail.  Give us success with YOU. May we release immunity to the things of the world.
In Your Holy and Precious Name,
AMEN
 
 

6 Responses to “Verse and Message (Week of January 13-19, 2013)”

  1. Jill Marceau Says:

    This is so true. Very powerful! Thank you for sharing, Susie!

  2. Lou Dempsey Says:

    Susie: What a strong message. Thank you for what your messages mean to me. Accountability is everything in all walks we endure. Thank you

    • susiemc Says:

      LOU! It’s GREAT to hear from you! I appreciate your words of confirmation….as I knew this was a heavy topic, but it’s something as followers we need to consider. Your encouragement means so much. I enjoy keeping up with you on facebook. You are a BRIGHT LIGHT for the KINGDOM! So glad we are in this race together! SMILES!

  3. Carol Anne Stark Says:

    Thank you, Susie! This is something we all need to be reminded of often! It is really so easy to slip into watching and laughing at SIN if we are not careful! I got hooked on watching re-runs of Frasier, which in many ways is one of the funniest series on TV. But the bad thing about Frasier is the immorality in it. Every single character in that show is hopping in bed with someone who is not their spouse. There seems to be no respect for marriage and even though it bothered me at first, I started “over looking” it after awhile. There really isn’t much other than FOX news or nature shows (and even they teach evolution) to watch. The networks have horrible sit-coms that I have no problem not watching. But lately, I have been convicted about watching Frasier and know I need to give it up. So, thanks for this message, because I feel like the Lord was speaking to me through it! Love you! CA

    • susiemc Says:

      Jeremy has DVD’s of “I Love Lucy” “Andy Griffith” and “The Honeymooners” we enjoy…it’s refreshing to watch good clean fun after even a glimpse of our commercials much less sitcoms or dramas these days. Thank you for your feedback. I appreciate you! Hugs


Leave a Reply

