Susie Mc

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Verse and Message (Week of Nov 25-Dec 1, 2012) November 27, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — susiemc @ 3:03 am

Job 33:31-33
“Keep listening, Job. Don’t interrupt—I’m not finished yet. But if you think of anything I should know, tell me. There’s nothing I’d like better than to see your name cleared. Meanwhile, keep listening. Don’t distract me with interruptions. I’m going to teach you the basics of wisdom.”

Definition of INTERRUPT

*to stop or hinder by breaking in <interrupted the speaker with frequent questions>

*to break in upon an action; especially : to break in with questions or remarks while another is speaking

So I have this problem. I have mastered the art of interruption. It’s an annoying gift to many….  I interrupt people when they are talking not even realizing it most of the time, because I get so excited about the conversation.   I predict or presume what a person will say next, and I try to finish their sentences. My mind races, and it’s difficult to be patient and wait for a person to finish what he or she is saying.  Maybe it’s because, I am afraid I will forget what I am going to share next. I blurt it out real quick so as to get my word in.

I am working on this behavior.  I am trying to learn to talk less, and listen more. Being sensitive to others requires active listening.

Interesting, I interrupt God a lot too.  I get excited at the first notion of His work, and I blaze through it.  Jumping ahead is not a wise move, because then I cannot enjoy the full blessing of what He may have in store for me.

So often, we miss the boat, because we are trying so hard to get on a train going in the wrong direction.  We think we know it all.  If we think we can do it better, we don’t hesitate to move forward in action.  That is NOT walking in the spirit.

To walk in the spirit requires being  “God Focused” and “Other’s Focused” and we develop a healthy portion of the fruit of patience.  When we walk in the spirit, we are more sensitive to God and people.  God rewards those who wait on Him.   

To be in tune to Him, we must learn the art of listening during prayer.  He speaks, but we can’t stop talking about what we need or want.  We must take the time to give Him our undivided attention.  Just like our spouse, our friends, and our family  want and deserve our undivided attention, God also desires that we recognize our need for Him.

On the flip-side….we shouldn’t be frustrated when God interrupts us.  A great example of an “interruption” from God happened with Mary.  Can you imagine the interruption of a supernatural  immaculate conception?  JESUS was by far the most spectacular interruption in history.  Born of the Virgin Mary, born as God and as man. I am thankful for that interruption of HIStory!  Excited now to celebrate the season of our Savior’s birth!

Father,

Thank you for the precious interruption of your Son, Jesus Christ. Where would we be without that beautiful piece of HIStory?  May we never forget the true meaning of this season.  Give us ears to hear you.  Guide us in your everlasting arms by teaching us to wait for you and your perfect timing regarding  every detail in our lives.  

In Your Precious Son’s Name,

AMEN

 

10 Responses to “Verse and Message (Week of Nov 25-Dec 1, 2012)”

  1. dcart3730 Says:

    Thank you! Been noticing I have not been still enough to hear God talking to me and answering my prayers. Good Word!

    • susiemc Says:

      We’re all in this together Denise….may we be more sensitive to the ONE who loves us more than we can ever imagine! Thanks so much for your encouragement! Love you

  2. Gaines Smith Says:

    Good morning Susie Mc. Been missing you Great to hear from you again. This message really spoke to me. For all the reasons you mention I have had the problem of interrupting others most of my life. I have never meant to be rude but I know that many think that I am being rude and inconsiderate. Mostly, I am just living life and loving folks at “220 with gusts up to 440”. I just pray that most folks appreciate the good part of me and overlook my faults. Hope they figure out that I do care. I am trying to be a better listener… Especially to God. Thanks again for your message. Please pray for me that I will listen better. Blessings Gaines

    Sent from my iPhone

    • susiemc Says:

      Gaines…I genuinely appreciate the feedback and support. Love your comment. Miss you and Vivi….hope this Christmas season will be amazing for you and your family…love and hugs

  3. Carol Anne Stark Says:

    This was so good. I have a problem with interrupting, too, and I needed this. I think I probably have interrupted God more than once! Love you and I hope you have a wonderful Christmas! Carol Anne

  4. Carol Adkins Says:

    Love it!!!!!!!!

  5. Katherine Guillen Says:

    Such a wonderful thought, Susan! I really relate a whole lot with this. Thank you so much for your transparency and willingness to share what God places on your heart. I love you!!


Leave a Reply

