Susie Mc

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Verse and Message (Week of Sept 16-21, 2012) September 16, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — susiemc @ 11:19 pm

Ephesians 4:32 (Amplified)

And become useful and helpful and kind to one another, tender-hearted (compassionate, understanding, loving-hearted), forgiving one another [readily and freely], as God in Christ forgave you.

Forgiveness is typically not an issue for me, as God has provided me with the gift of mercy. However, it’s funny how it can sneak up on you at times.  When you think you have put something behind, a reminder pops up.  The only thing to do…choose to forgive again.  

We saw an amazing movie on forgiveness this weekend. I highly recommend October Baby.  I think it represents an incredible example of true forgiveness.  If you find it hard to forgive someone….get ready to be blown away by a genuine message of forgiveness.  It reflects a powerful demonstration of forgiveness of another person and a touching display of self-forgiveness wraps up the movie upon the closing credits.  One of the coolest parts of this movie is that it was filmed in Birmingham. You may recognize the scenery if you live in Birmingham and/or are familiar with the city.

Forgiveness is something close to home for all of us. We are human, and we all need forgiveness. In fact, the only way we can possibly have it in us to forgive is due to the GRACE and MERCY that we have been freely and fully forgiven by Christ.  

Think about that person who really gets under your skin.

Think about the person who hurt you regardless if the hurt was intentional or not.

Stop beating yourself up for making a mistake. There’s only ONE who didn’t make mistakes.

It may seem impossible to extend the olive branch to someone else or release the gift of self-forgiveness to yourself.

The reason it may seem overwhelming to forgive–you might be trying to forgive in your power alone.  REAL forgiveness is only possible through the POWER of the HOLY SPIRIT.  

YOU CAN NOT DO THIS BY YOURSELF, but you can make the CHOICE to FORGIVE, and ask Him for help.  It’s something we must practice over and over again, not just once. 

UNFORGIVENESS doesn’t hurt the offender. It pollutes the heart of the UNFORGIVER.  

Check out this beautiful music video by Matthew West….

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h1Lu5udXEZI

See the trailer of the recently released DVD, October Baby…..

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0098VXQP8/ref=atv_feed_catalog?tag=imdb-watchbar-20 

 Father God,

Thank you for your perfect gift of forgiveness in Jesus Christ. Show us how to forgive consistently. Help us love the unlovable.  Forgiving really is one of the hardest things to do. When misery loves company Lord, guide us to take the high road and LET IT GO! We are so grateful Lord for THE BLOOD that washes it all away! Give us the power to forgive…readily and freely!

In Your Precious Name,

AMEN

 

20 Responses to “Verse and Message (Week of Sept 16-21, 2012)”

  1. Gaines Smith Says:

    Good stuff Susie Mc. Great to hear from you.Vivi and I have missed seeing you and Jeremy. Hope you guys are doing well. Blessings Gaines

    Sent from my iPhone

  2. Debbie Patterson Says:

    Our pastor talked on forgiveness today as a part of a sermon on prayer. Thank you for your post and for the links!

  3. Jill Prestridge Says:

    That is the cutest little baby beagle. Looks like a beagle anyway. Who’s dog is it? I’ve been listening to that song a lot lately. It is my favorite song. Great message.

    Sent from my iPad

  4. james irish Says:

    could not have had this on a better night, perfect timing…… thank you!

  5. Kathy Skeels Says:

    Susie,

    As usual, your Verse and Message fed me with exactly what I was I needing right now! I have been having an issue forgiveness (which I don’t usually have an issue with either). And I loved the links! I have not seen October Baby yet, but have been wanting to, and it is next on my Netflix Que, yay!!! And, though I have heard the song, “Forgiveness” before, I never really listened to it until this evening! Amazing lyrics that I so needed to hear! 🙂

    Thank You,

    Love Always,

    Kathy Skeels

    • susiemc Says:

      Kathy….thank you for your kind feedback. YES, you must get the movie on NetFlix…it’s amazing! I was the same way, I had heard the song, but I had not really listened to all the lyrics. Very powerful! Hugs and Love sweet friend!

  6. Geree' Martin Says:

    Hi Susie…Thanks for sharing your message on forgiveness. I am a volunteer counselor at Her Choice Birmingham Women Center and we are having our Annual Fundraising Banquet Tuesday, October 16 at The Club. Our guest speaker is Shari Rigby, (post-abortive actress) who played the birth mother in the film October Baby. She will also be autographing and giving out DVD’s of her movie that night. The theme of our banquet is “Forgiven Much, Love Much”. Her Choice B’ham Women’s Center has turned hearts and minds of women considering abortion to choose life. We offer a wide array of services at no cost (including ultra-sounds), and most importantly, the clients are presented with Christ’s love. If you or any of your friends would like to attend the Banquet please let me know and I will set a table aside for you. Take care my dear friend and God Bless, Geree’ Martin

    • susiemc Says:

      Thank you for letting me know! That is INCREDIBLE! I actually attended that dinner (or a similar dinner) at The Grand Conference Center a few years ago. I would LOVE to go Geree. I know the program will be very moving! Touch base with me via email for more details. My new email is susiemcsellers@gmail.com …I still use susiemc_68@yahoo.com as well. Miss you so much! Can’t believe our boys are seniors. Love you

  7. JSnell1854@aol.com Says:

    Thank you, Susie

  8. Aunt Kathy Schena Says:

    Hey Susie, your message was right on the mark, We all need to step back and evaluate what’s going on in our
    lives, thank you, for bringing this to my attention. Love you, miss you!

  9. Amy Henderson Says:

    Susie Mc,

    We love you and loved reading this week’s verse and message. You are a blessing to us.

    Love,

    Amy and Rob

  10. John MacLennan Says:

    Thanks, Susie. Our computer crashed and we got new equipment and having issues with e-mails, etc. so was late reading this one. Had not seen it.

    In Him,

    Linda


Leave a Reply

