Susie Mc

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Verse and Message for Father’s Day 2012! June 15, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — susiemc @ 7:17 pm

Lamentations 3:22-25

New Living Translation (NLT)

 The faithful love of the Lord never ends!
His mercies never cease.
Great is his faithfulness;
his mercies begin afresh each morning.
I say to myself, “The Lord is my inheritance;
therefore, I will hope in him!”

The Lord is good to those who depend on him, to those who search for Him.

Meriam-Webster online defines FAITHFUL as follows:

*steadfast in affection or allegiance

*firm in adherence to promises or in observance of duty

*given with strong assurance

*true to the facts, to a standard, or to an original

 Synonyms of the word FAITHFUL are as follows:

 constant…dedicated…devoted…loyal…binding…steadfast…true

When I was eight years old, my dad and I made a bet. I told him that I would quit biting my fingernails, if he would quit smoking.  He quit smoking immediately. Cold turkey—he never smoked another cigarette again (after smoking for more than 20 years).

I admire my dad. He had been bound a lot longer to his addiction than I had been tied to my poor habit. He also has never broken a promise to me.

Unfortunately, I broke my promise.  I wasn’t able to stay firm and steadfast in the commitment I spoke.

Many times I tried to stop.  One would think that the sight of ghastly nubby nails would be incentive enough to resist.  I thought I discovered the solution when acrylic nails were invented.  Over the years, no telling how much money I spent on having my nails done every two weeks–a new set of acrylics almost once per month.  The acrylic nail transformation served as a mere band-aid for a few days following each appointment. However, underneath the acrylic nails was a constant reminder of my broken promise.

I TRIED EVERYTHING I COULD POSSIBLY DO TO STOP…..it never worked.

Why didn’t it work? I am convinced that it didn’t work, because of one word in that sentence…. “I” ….

This past February, I made a choice to get rid of the fake nails once and for all. I knew I could not stop biting on my own. I realized that I had to have help. I prayed for God to do it for me, I gave up on doing it myself.  I prayed for supernatural self-control.  He granted me that beautiful fruit of the Spirit.

Here is the result…..(wish I had a “before” picture to show you the genuine transformation).

God is faithful! He doesn’t break a promise. He gives us the power to reconcile our broken promises.  I wasn’t faithful with my promise to my dad when I was eight. However, I am convinced that it was because of the faithfulness of my earthly father and the faithfulness of my Father in heaven that I was able to dedicate myself to let go of this nervous habit.  Even if it took 36 years to redeem myself, I am grateful that God gave me the strength to become victorious in this effort. It is a true miracle!

 I am so thankful for a wonderful earthly father who believes in me.  I love bragging on my dad for being able to quit smoking. I love bragging on my “Abba Father” for what He has done for me, in many areas, not just nubby nails no more.   God loves to show off sometime, but we have a role in it. When we are “willing” to let go and let Him work, His power will be obvious to us and those around us.  Until we give Him complete control in our lives, we will be out of control.

This post is for anyone who is worn out trying. Our measly efforts in life go only so far. When we attempt to do things on our own, we get our own effort. When we allow Him to step in, we get results of His Amazing Power. 

Father God,

Thank you for a precious earthly father who still believes in me! Thank YOU for guiding me and providing for me in more ways than I could ever hope or imagine. Continue to give me the wisdom to believe in your beautiful ways and the impact YOU have when I release everything to YOU!

Happy Father’s Day Daddy and Happy Father’s Day Abba Father!

AMEN

 

Leave a Reply

