Susie Mc

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Verse and Message (Week of April 28-May 5, 2012) May 1, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — susiemc @ 12:07 am
My husband and I were discussing faith the other day. He brought to my attention how it would appear to our little minds that Jesus contradicts Himself regarding faith in The Word.
 
In one verse, He shares that we don’t need much faith to make things happen. 
 
Matthew 17:20
“Truly I tell you, if you have faith as small as a mustard seed, you can say to this mountain, ‘Move from here to there,’ and it will move. Nothing will be impossible for you.” 
 
In an earlier chapter of Matthew, we hear Him in a different tone. If Peter had “little faith” shouldn’t he have been able to CONTINUE walking on the water?
 
Matthew 14:29-31
“Come,” he said. Then Peter got down out of the boat, walked on the water and came toward Jesus. But when he saw the wind, he was afraid and, beginning to sink, cried out, “Lord, save me!” Immediately, Jesus reached out his hand and caught him. “You of little faith,” he said, “why did you doubt?”

Actually, what I learned from both of these verses is that REAL FAITH is FAITH that ENDURES. Many of us have had “temporary faith” or momentary “confident hope.” 

Jesus applauds a heart of faith that endures. 

It kind of reminds me of when I first played carpet golf as a child. I got a hole in one almost immediately. The reaction of my audience was “beginner’s luck.” It was temporary “greatness” in putt-putt golf. However, success as a professional carpet golfer would be the result of consistency and endurance. 

If you want your faith to increase, you have to ask for it. But, you must be willing to take the responsibility to be mature enough to release anything that would get in the way of that faith. True faith involves surrender (just like Peter had true but temporary faith when he walked on water).  True faith most often involves long-suffering. If something doesn’t appear to be turning out as you believe and hope and pray, then maybe you are choosing to view things from your perspective alone. You have to give it over, release the wheel ‘if you will’ in order to see the movement of the mountains you are staring at.  

Again, if you think you can do something on your own, then you are not in a posture of surrender. In addition, if you don’t want to wait on the mountain to move, you are not practicing enduring faith. God’s ways are higher. We are not supposed to understand how it all works. If we could comprehend it, then there would be no purpose in faith.

Father God,

Please increase my faith, not just the QUALITY of my faith, but the QUANTITY of my faith. I know that you have said that my faith needs to be a mere mustard seed to move a mountain. Keep me humble, and HELP me keep my eyes on YOU. When I consistently  surrender to your will, the mountains ahead crumble.  I am grateful for the faith you have in me and the lessons you teach me.  

In Your Holy Name,

AMEN

 

 

4 Responses to “Verse and Message (Week of April 28-May 5, 2012)”

  1. So beautiful and so inspiring, Susie. Just what I needed today. Thank you, sweet friend. You are a gift.

    http://www.handsfreemama.com

    • susiemc Says:

      YOU are a GIFT to me Rachel…so good to hear from you. I am so enjoying your blog too! So happy God connected us! Love ya!

  2. Kathy Jones Says:

    Susie I really needed this today!!! Thanks


Leave a Reply

