Susie Mc

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Verse and Message (Week of Jan 30 – Feb 4, 2012) January 31, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — susiemc @ 11:04 pm

**CAUTION**  Susie Mc doesn’t get on her “soapbox” often. This is one of those rare times!

Matthew 7:8
For everyone who asks receives; the one who seeks finds; and to the one who knocks, the door will be opened.

I am a part of a group on facebook known as “Christian Bloggers Network.” When I have time, I will read a couple of blog posts written by fellow Christian bloggers.  Let me just say, we expect our Christian brothers and sisters to be on the same team, right? The other day, there was a certain post that got my attention. It was about Big Macs and Supersized Meals, or so I thought. Actually, I figured it had to do with feeding on the right things. That’s a subject for another blog post.

Well, instead, the writer shared his disgust about people overusing Scripture, specifically how people use the verse Jeremiah 29:11, which incidentally is my FAVORITE VERSE. Don’t talk bad about my favorite verse!

“For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.” Jeremiah 29:11 (NIV)

The writer’s opinion is as follows (not my opinion):

“This was a Scripture originally meant for exiles. Anyone who has ever thrown away their half- finished strawberry milkshake, or lives in a house of more than 20 square feet, or who doesn’t know (“verb; to be on familiar terms with”) pain, should be banned from quoting this scripture.”

Are there times in life when asking for God’s blessing is out of line?

REALLY?

REALLY?

Granted, I may have totally interpreted the blog incorrectly. But, for the most part, I believe I am like most growing Christians. I don’t know the Greek or Hebrew translations like the back of my hand. I know what I know what I know.

Scripture is 100% TRUTH!

I think that we should be able to claim ANY and EVERY verse in Scripture. I don’t care how it was originally written, God knew I would read His Word, and IF IT IS WRITTEN, then it’s for ME and for YOU! That’s right!

In the grand scheme of things, yes, I know that there is trouble in this world, because we live in a fallen world. But I don’t live here. I am just passing through. My plans and hopes are lined up with Eternity. That promise of HOPE and a FUTURE…..it’s mine! Even if my circumstances get messed up here, I know my REDEEMER lives. In Him, I prosper. In Him, I am not harmed. In Him, I have the perfect plans for HOPE and a FUTURE. So no one, especially another Christian, better tell me that I am banned from claiming a Scripture! 

Father God,

Help me not to get bent out of shape by how another Christian views YOU and Your Word. I know that your Word is 100% TRUTH, and I have the confident assurance that as long as I stay in communion with you, I can resist the lies of the enemy. You are a God of order, not confusion. I just pray that I have the perspective that YOU have Father. I beg you to make me more like you each day!

In Your Beautiful Son’s Name,

AMEN

 

4 Responses to “Verse and Message (Week of Jan 30 – Feb 4, 2012)”

  1. julie martin richardson Says:

    AMEN AMEN AMEN

  2. Susie: People have mis-quoted both the verses of the Bible and the context since the day it was written. How many times have you heard or read someone use a clipped verse to justify their own views or actions. I agree that every word of the Bible is the word of God. It is 100% truth. But people mis-interpret God’s words either on purpose or out of ignorance. People also tell other people about their beliefs about what a passage means whether or not it is the actual meaning or a twisted version of it. It is up to us to not take any man’s word for truth, only God’s.

    I think it is important for every person to diligently and honestly pursue God’s word. Especially if they are to tell others what it means. Jesus seldom explicitly told people how to interpret scripture. He expected them to seek the truth in the scripture by the leading of the Holy Spirit. When the blogger concluded his rant he asked the question “Is there a time when asking for god’s blessing is out of line?” His intent was for us to agree with his answer that that yes, there is. By throwing it out there he un-intentionally invited us to seek the truth for ourselves. I think the answer is no.

    • susiemc Says:

      Indeed Rob. Thank you for your exceptional feedback. After I wrote the message, I did reflect on how many people reference certain verses of Scripture with an interpretation to fit their own lifestyles. In reality, the Word is….. Hebrews 4:12 “For the word of God is alive and active. Sharper than any double-edged sword, it penetrates even to dividing soul and spirit, joints and marrow; it judges the thoughts and attitudes of the heart.” God will place the accurate translations on our hearts, when we seek it with all of our heart! We must dig in and search the meanings and revelations ….rhema words, as if searching for a treasure, and it is a beautiful treasure. I love your insight!


Leave a Reply

