Susie Mc

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Verse and Message for the New Year – Happy 2012! January 3, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — susiemc @ 7:22 pm

 

Isaiah 43:19

See, I am doing a new thing!
   Now it springs up; do you not perceive it?
I am making a way in the wilderness
   and streams in the wasteland.

I love routine. I despise change. Hence, we finally took our Christmas decorations down yesterday, after enjoying them since the weekend before Thanksgiving.  

One thing I have discovered as I painfully take the steps to move  past Christmas is that when I have put the last ornament away, boxed the last nutcracker, and folded the last Christmas towel, there is a sense of relief when everything is in order and in place in the attic.

I think it’s so cool that the New Year falls right after Christmas, because  a “fresh start” seems to be fitting after the hoopla of the Christmas festivities and events. We all appreciate new beginnings. 

The funny thing, we get a “do-over” every 24 hours. That’s right, at the dawn of each new day we are blessed with a new beginning. We can choose to “carry-over” the burdens of yesterday, or start anew each morning, as the sun rises and the SON SHINES.

Pastor Mark Pettus of Church of the Highlands shared three inspiring points on new beginnings, especially how to embrace the New Year.

*Don’t ignore the fresh opportunity God gives us. Don’t waste the opportunity for a fresh start.

*Don’t try to do everything on your own. We need more than what’s in us alone.

*Live in the power that Christ has given us.

We live in a fallen world, and we were told there would be trouble. When we have a “God-Focus” we can be victorious no matter what we face. Our thoughts make all the difference. “Godly thoughts lead to Godly behavior.” (unknown)

So, whether you resolve to lose weight, work harder, eat better, exercise more, read the Bible each day in this new year–whatever it is, remember, Jesus Christ is the Author of the “Do Over” and your success depends on how much you give Him of YOU. If you want a NEW YOU in the NEW YEAR, live your days for Him and others. It’s the BEST way to make a fresh start in 2012!

Father,

Thank you for new beginnings, “do-overs”…a fresh start.  Because of your SON  “all things new” is possible. Help us to make the most of this year ahead in 2012. We want our desires to line up with your desires. Give us fresh vision and passion for your Word and your people.

In Jesus Precious Name

AMEN

 

12 Responses to “Verse and Message for the New Year – Happy 2012!”

  1. Kristy Says:

    Thanks for that message Susie and thank god for do-overs and fresh starts!

    Glad you got all your decorations packed away. I’m about to get started on mine.

    Happy New Year!

    • susiemc Says:

      Hey Kristy! So great to hear from you…I am not sure you have responded to my blog before. I hope you all enjoyed a wonderful Christmas and New Year’s! Love you and Miss you!!

  2. Louis Says:

    Amen to that Susie !!! It was refreshing to hear and I am ready for the what God brings into my life and opens up the new doors in this New Year of 2012. See ya at Prayer/Fasting on the 8th. Susie, keep me in your prayers please ! I`m ready for the do over, new start in every area of my life !!! If you know what I mean ? God Bless, Louis

    • susiemc Says:

      Thank you for your feedback Louis….I look forward to the 21 days of prayer and fasting too. May 2012 be your best blessed year EVER…Smiles

  3. The grace of God overwhelms me at times, Susie. I often do not feel worthy. You have reminded me of His gracious love and mercy so eloquently here. Thank you for this beautiful post.

    • susiemc Says:

      Look who’s talking! You are so gifted in how you write and share so honestly with such a sincere, open, and loving heart. Thank you for your continued support, and I pray you and your family continue to enjoy a beautiful life in Him this 2012…hands free in 2012! Love ya….still looking to meet you in person soon!

  4. A new year every day. I like it.

    • susiemc Says:

      YES! Thank you for your continued encouragement, feedback, and friendship Rob!!! We sure miss you! Happy 2012!

  5. Stacy Says:

    Just like you I love routine and hate change and right now my life is so full of change and void of routine that it makes me feel unsettled. Thank you for reminding me that not only was 1.1.12 a new start but TODAY is a new start….all I need to do is as you say…let the SON shine on me! Thank you and Thank JESUS!

    • susiemc Says:

      You make me smile Stacy! I appreciate your comments and encouragement! I hope 2012 is incredible for you….and I hope you have a fabulous day today too!

  6. Kent Scroggins Says:

    Hey Smack Attack!!!! I always love your verse & message. Thank you for not just writting this post but living what you write. You’ve had more impact on this community than you will ever know this side of Heaven. Thanks for being the Smack Attack!
    Oh, looked for you Wed night at COTH. It was my first 1st Wednesday!

    • susiemc Says:

      What an encouraging word from a fellow traveler on this amazing journey! Thank you Kent! You always pop up and surprise me! I feel like it’s been FOREVER since I have seen you! I hope you and your family had an incredible Christmas and New Year’s. We were there Wed night, we love 1st Wednesdays! We are actually leading a small group on Ephesians and Philippians on the other Wed that service won’t be taking place at Highlands for this upcoming semester / season. I pray you and your family enjoy your best year ever in 2012…..and I hope we run into each other soon, either at Jemison or at Highlands. Hugs and Love!


Leave a Reply

