Susie Mc

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Verse and Message (Week of Sept 25-Oct 1, 2011) September 29, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — susiemc @ 1:54 am

 

Exodus 3:10, 13-14 10

10 So now, go. I am sending you to Pharaoh to bring my people the Israelites out of Egypt.” 13 Moses said to God, “Suppose I go to the Israelites and say to them, ‘The God of your fathers has sent me to you,’ and they ask me, ‘What is his name?’ Then what shall I tell them?” 14 God said to Moses, “I AM WHO I AM.[b] This is what you are to say to the Israelites: ‘I AM has sent me to you.’”

 

Pastor Layne Schranz, associate pastor at Church of the Highlands, opened up the service last Sunday talking about the GREAT I AM. I always thought that “I AM” was an awkward name for God, and I pictured standing in Moses’ shoes when God commanded him to go to Pharaoh to declare that the GREAT I AM sent him.

God revealed new light to me through Pastor Layne at that moment. If we want to derive meaning from the NAME of the GREAT I AM, we simply fill in the blank. 

I AM _______.

God is anything and everything we need or want Him to be.

 

If we need peace – then He says – “I AM your PEACE.”

If we need money or a job – then He says – “I AM your PROVIDER.”

If we are afraid – then He says – “I AM your PROTECTOR.”

If  we are sick or hurting – then He says – “I AM your HEALER.”

 

All we have to do is fill in the blank. There is MORE POWER in HIS NAME than in any other name.

Check out this beautiful worship song with lyrics that describes a little of what I am trying to explain….

 

NEW LIFE WORSHIP – GREAT I AM

http://www.onlylyrics.com/hits.php?grid=11&id=1062274

 

Do you want heaven to be real, and death to be a lie?

Do you want to see dry bones living again?

 

We can count on the GREAT I AM to be forever faithful. He fills the blanks in our lives. He truly completes us, never leaving us empty. He provides HOPE and gives us strength for anything we face.

 

Father,

Thank you for being the GREAT I AM. I am only alive, because you are my everything.  Never let me forget that darkness runs at the mention of your Name. No power above or below can stand against You. Thank you for being on my side. When you are for me, who could stand against me? That is a beautiful reality!

AMEN 

 

6 Responses to “Verse and Message (Week of Sept 25-Oct 1, 2011)”

  1. Mindy Says:

    Susie, this is so spot on for what I needed to hear right now! Thanks for sharing your gifts with us. And thank you to the Great I AM for all of my blessings!

  2. Kathy Skeels Says:

    Susie,

    I so agree! That message from Pastor Layne also opened my eyes and helped me to understand the meaning of “The Great I Am” like I never had before. Thank you once again for a wonderful verse and message!

    • susiemc Says:

      Thank you for sharing Kathy! I appreciate your friendship and encouragement! I am so happy you and Teresa are in my small group. Love ya!

  3. happyharperstories Says:

    How happy I am that He is the Great I AM! I love the great photo you found to go with your message. I am stopping by from Nikol’s blog. Nice to visit you here.


Leave a Reply

