Susie Mc

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Verse and Message (Week of Aug 14-20, 2011) August 19, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — susiemc @ 1:03 pm

2 Chronicles 15:7

“But as for you, be strong and do not give up, for your work will be rewarded.”

NEVER, NEVER, NEVER, NEVER GIVE UP!

(Winston Churchill)

This morning Brandon Isabell who is the pastor of our Church of the Highlands campus in Auburn, spoke on being persistent in prayer and genuinely believing in God for answered prayer. He shared the analogy of running a marathon and what happens when one hits the “WALL” before completing a  marathon. 

The distance of a marathon is 26.2 miles. The “WALL” represents that place  in a marathon, typically between 17 and 20 miles, where one wants to QUIT…STOP…GIVE UP. 

I have run six marathons. The last one was completed in October of 2006. I made it through six marathon walls. After an injury that escalated to ultimately slow me down and take me out of marathon zone, I now have a new perspective. I haven’t given up, just waiting on God and allowing Him to do different things in me. Changing directions and priorities doesn’t mean we give up on a dream. It simply means God is molding us to become “better.”

I prayed for six consecutive “21 days of prayer” from August 2007 through January 2010 for my husband. During that span, praying through six “WALLS” God opened my eyes to a new perspective. He distracted me and redirected my focus to take the edge off. I was still persistent in prayer, but God helped me grow to be “filled” with HIM, “joyful” in HIM, with more “focus” on HIM while waiting for His answer. God made me into a “better” Susan so that I would be ready for Jeremy, when HIS timing was right. 

When you pray fervently for something — a goal, a person, a change, provision, healing, etc — whatever it is you are praying for….you can count on God to be faithful. Most likely, He won’t answer the prayer in your timeframe or exactly the way you envision, but you can bet, HE has the BEST result.

If you are worn out praying…if you have hit the WALL…if you are ready to throw in the towel… envision this — Jesus, in the Garden of Gethsemane, praying to the point of death….blood, sweat, tears. He’s been there…He knows precisely what you are going through…He is working on the BEST outcome in your situation. His grace is sufficient. His grace was and will be sufficient for anything and everything we will face. So, persevere, HE’S GOT IT!

NEVER, NEVER, NEVER, NEVER GIVE UP!

Father,

Thank you for giving us the grace that is sufficient to get through the “Walls” of life. Guide us into becoming “better” and give us eyes to see what YOU see. Thank you for answered prayer, thank you for giving us the strength and perseverance to NEVER GIVE UP! Our HOPE is in YOU Lord!

Amen

 

6 Responses to “Verse and Message (Week of Aug 14-20, 2011)”

  1. Ann Says:

    Great message Susie. His message rang thru with me also even though I have only completed one marathon in my life, I did hit that wall but came thru to the finish line with God’s help! It is so awesome to know we can ALWAYS depend on Him to move us forward no mattter where we are or what we are going thru.

    • susiemc Says:

      Thank you sweet Ann….your encouragement continues to radiate….Love you and continuing to pray for strength and peace…can’t wait until Starbucks next week….SMILES

  2. Wow. This is one of the most helpful, insightful, and encouraging pieces I have ever read about prayer. You have put clarity into something that is often fuzzy for me. I really needed this tonight. I am so thankful for you, my friend!!!

    • susiemc Says:

      Thank you for your sweet feedback Rachel! I really enjoy reading your very encouraging and insightful blog too! Love you!

  3. MIRy Says:

    do we have 2 Corinthians 15:7 in the bible. as what I knew in the book of 2Corinthians is end in chapter 13.

    • susiemc Says:

      WOW, so glad you brought that to my attention, I will edit it. It should be 2 Chronicles 15:7. Good eye, and I appreciate your feedback! Smiles and God bless you!


Leave a Reply

