Susie Mc

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Verse and Message (Week of July 17-23, 2011) July 19, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — susiemc @ 7:02 pm

Ephesians 1:3 (The Message)

Long before he laid down earth’s foundations, he had us in mind, had settled on us as the focus of his love, to be made whole and holy by his love. Long, long ago he decided to adopt us into his family through Jesus Christ. (What pleasure he took in planning this!) He wanted us to enter into the celebration of his lavish gift-giving by the hand of his beloved Son.

A new Krispy Kreme Doughnuts opened on Highway 280 recently. I am surprised I haven’t ventured out there yet for a hot glazed doughnut and glass of milk, yet my conscience gets in the way–don’t even want to imagine the fat and calories…whew. However, I do remember a day when I was young, and my family would ride by the original Krispy Kreme in Eastlake. The memories of stopping to get doughnuts after dinner. I remembered the HOT NOW sign. It was like a giant billboard to me. We would get our dozen along with a chocolate cream filled or chocolate covered. Nonetheless, when I think of Krispy Kreme, I think of HOT NOW. Such branding as this is what advertisers relish.

The term BRAND according to www.merriam-websters.com means “a mark made by burning with a hot iron to attest manufacture or quality or to designate ownership.”

I can think of a few jingles from back in the day…”I am stuck on band aids cuz band aids stuck on me…” “Hold the pickles, hold the lettuce, special orders don’t upset us…” Commercials, branding, and advertising in our society have become a true art form. Many people look forward to the Super Bowl each January, not just due to the NFL champion countdown, but for the creative and outrageous commercials.

Jesus Christ BRANDED each of us when we accepted Him as our personal Savior, however, it’s up to us to continue the flow of advertising. Just as the HOT NOW glows in the window of Krispy Kreme, how do we reflect HIS LIGHT? Do we shine the Light of the Lord, or are we a dim reflection of the world? We represent many things to many people. I desire for people to see my branding. I want people to see the BRIGHT LIGHT “JESUS” glowing when I walk into a room. I want people to remember HIS REFLECTION when I pass on after this life.   

How do people see you? Is your identity with Christ first and foremost? Is your branding obvious? As Christians, our slogan should  be — HOT NOW JESUS!!

Father,

Thank you that your Son Jesus died so that I could be branded as a daughter of the KING. With this gift, please help me to honor and glorify YOUR NAME at all times in my words and actions. May others see YOUR SON in me, and may you draw others to your Kingdom through His branding on my life!

AMEN

 

4 Responses to “Verse and Message (Week of July 17-23, 2011)”

    • susiemc Says:

      Thank you Karen….so glad we met via Christian Bloggers Network. I look forward to reading more of your work! Blessings!

  1. Melinda Says:

    I think Pastor Chris will be borrowing this from you!

    • susiemc Says:

      Melinda, your encouragement is so sweet! I borrow plenty from Pastor Chris and the other anointed pastors at Highlands, ha….anyone is welcome to share my blog posts. Even though we have a Starbucks within the main campus of COTH, I am surprised PC hasn’t built a Krispy Kreme inside..ha..I share the love for these sinful delightful doughnuts with him and so many others! Thank you for your comment! Hugs!


Leave a Reply

