Susie Mc

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Verse and Message (Week of March 20-26, 2011) March 25, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — susiemc @ 7:17 pm

 

2 Peter 1:10–So, friends, confirm God’s invitation to you, his choice of you. Don’t put it off; do it now. Do this, and you’ll have your life on a firm footing, the streets paved and the way wide open into the eternal kingdom of our Master and Savior, Jesus Christ.

Amos 5:14–Seek good and not evil— and live! You talk about God, the God-of-the-Angel-Armies, being your best friend. Well, live like it, and maybe it will happen.

I overlooked some serious news of a dear friend, because I have so many acquaintances on facebook. Let me explain. I just hit 1500 friends on facebook. Unless I stay glued to facebook 24/7, it’s impossible to keep up with all of them each day. Facebook is a delightful social network to stay in touch with people. However, when you become a friend of a friend of a friend, and you have never spoken to that person before–even if you recognize that person, do you really want to know what that person does each minute of the day? Of course not.

The object is to stay connected to your most valued friends, maybe those you see at church or work, and people who you want to catch up with periodically who live far away, or those who represent a cherished time in your life–ie high school, college, friends of your journey in the past. When your home page pulls up all your friends of friends of friends, it’s hard to know what’s happening with your top friends.

It made me think about my relationship with Jesus. How often do we treat Him like a mere acquaintance? He may be listed as “one” of our friends, but do we really talk to Him, text Him, or spend time with Him? Sadly, some people only know Him because He is a friend of a friend of a friend. He should be our TOP FRIEND who we catch up with each day!

So,how does Jesus become our Top Friend? The first step is to make sure we have requested His friendship. He never refuses a friendship request. The next step is to talk to Him each day and get to know Him more. That communication involves listening too. In order to know Him more, it’s crucial that we study His profile (HIS PROMISES IN THE WORD).

They say we are judged by the company we keep, so wouldn’t it be a good idea to imitate Him? In other words, when we reflect His personality, others around us, whether they are valued friends or strangers have the opportunity to see Him and make Him their Top Friend too. He cannot become or remain our Top Friend if we are not staying connected to Him. When we seek Him, we will find Him, and He will not only be on our HOME PAGE, He will be our HOME!

If He is your Top Friend, wouldn’t it be wise to treat Him that way? After all, He has your profile memorized, and even the things about yourself you don’t know. I “LIKE” or rather “LOVE” HIS profile, and I want to reflect Him through my profile by “SHARING” Him with others through my words and actions. Let’s take time to edit our profile each day to include Jesus!

JESUS,

We are so grateful that we have access to you! Guide us into a beautiful connection with you. We know that you will never leave us, and you are the best friend we will ever have! Forgive us when we have treated your friendship as a mere acquaintance. You deserve to be shared with others each and every day. We love you!

AMEN

**Important Announcement**

Pastor Chris Hodges Father-In-Law, sweet Tammy’s daddy, Pastor Billy Hornsby, founder and President of the Association of Related Churches (ARC) and teaching pastor at Church of the Highlands in Birmingham, Alabama, went to be with the Lord on March 23, 2011. Billy’s passion for God, family, life, and leaders around the world will be long remembered. For details on the memorial service to celebrate Billy’s life, please click onto the following link: http://www.churchofthehighlands.com/tribute/billy-hornsby

 

10 Responses to “Verse and Message (Week of March 20-26, 2011)”

  1. Kelly Says:

    I LOVE your messages Susie! LOVE, LOVE, LOVE the Facebook analogy! And you are so right….we do treat Him like a friend of a friend, etc. That was one of my New Year’s Resolutions….to put Him first in everything I do and it has made a world of difference. Not to say all things are easy or that I don’t struggle or stress, but life seems to have a peaceful calm that I have not experienced in a very long time since my resolution to LOVE Him and put Him first in my life! Thank you again for a wonderful, up-lifting, end-of-the week message.
    My thoughts & prayers go out to Chris, Tammy and their families. I lost a dear friend this week as well. Not one of those ‘good’ friends, but one of those people who made a difference in a lot of teachers’ lives. She will be missed.
    In His Grace,
    Kelly

    • susiemc Says:

      Thank you Kelly! I had fun with this message, and yes, it is true! Sometimes we get caught up in all the distractions around us, and we can fall into taking our Best Friend for granted. I am sorry to hear about the loss of your friend. Prayers for comfort and strength will be lifted up for those touched by that special person. I appreciate your sweet encouragement and support. Love you!! Hugs!

  2. Martha Taylor Says:

    After getting my cup of coffee each morning I head to the computer to see what’s been happening with my friends and to see if I have any new messages. Sometimes I do and sometimes I just see things from the friends of the friends as you have described in your message. EVERY time I go to the Lord in my quiet time I have a message from MY TOP FRIEND. He never disappoints me. He is always thinking of me and caring about me. I always feel His love. Makes you wonder why I don’t go there first!

    • susiemc Says:

      Love your comment Martha! Glad my “little friend” is subscribed to my blog now, as I am not emailing out the messages anymore..it’s by subscription that one receives them each week now. Thank you for your encouragement and friendship….Love you and Miss you!

  3. Susie, you have a skill of reaching people at a level in which we can all relate. The way you have made us think about connecting to Jesus really brings it home.

    This weekend, I turned off my computer (which means no Facebook). Guess who I spent time with? Jesus. I read my bible and the biblically based book for my small group at church. I spent time reading HIs word and listening to His whispers. He had so many messages for me that I would never had heard if I did not spend time with Him. I felt fulfilled in a way that only comes from connecting whole heartedly with Him.

    Thank you for this beautiful reminder. You have blessed me today with His message.

    Rachel

    • susiemc Says:

      What a beautiful retreat for you and the Lord! Thank you for sharing your “Hands Free Moments” for so many to relish! I can’t wait to finally meet you in person one day! Thank YOU for blessing me with your gift to reach others, and your gift of encouragement! I appreciate your sweet comment! Have a wonderful week filled with HIS PRESENCE!! Hugs!

  4. Louis Brignet Says:

    Amen Girlfriend !! Great job as always !! Keepem coming, Louis Romans 8:28

    • susiemc Says:

      Thank you Louis! Hope you are having a super week! Your encouragement means so much! I love Romans 8:28! 🙂

  5. Def food for thought! I see it more on Twitter than FB but those who proclaim Christ and then post mean, nasty, hateful, or curse words as their status messages. Boggles my mind. Thanks for the nourishment 🙂

    I understand your predicament about all the friends. I have the same issue. I hide those that I don’t really know. Otherwise I never see my real friends messages. I love my fans but I need to see what those closest to me say sometimes too 🙂

    Blessings,
    Mel
    Please feel free to stop by: Trailing After God

    • susiemc Says:

      Thank you so much for posting a comment Melinda! I appreciate your feedback and thoughts! Your encouragement means a lot. I look forward to reading your blog. God bless you much as you continue using your gifts for His glory!


Leave a Reply

