Susie Mc

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Verse and Message (Week of Feb 5-12, 2011) February 8, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — susiemc @ 8:16 pm

 

*Photo: Church of the Highlands Parking Lot at Sunset*

ACTS 20:32
“Now I’m turning you over to God, our marvelous God whose gracious Word can make you into what he wants you to be and give you everything you could possibly need in this community of holy friends.”

REVIVAL is defined by www.merriam-webster.com as:

“a renewed attention to or interest in something”
“a new presentation of something old”
“a restoration of force, validity, or effect”

All these are nice definitions, but I would like to think of “revival” as a “fresh awakening” to MORE of the Holy Spirit. This “revival” I am describing cannot be put into words. It occurs when our spirits are revived in such a way that creates a hunger and thirst for more of HIM.

I have been going to church since I was a baby, and I first accepted Christ as my Savior when I was seven years old. Through the years I happened upon the “giddy feelings” of a heartfelt sermon or a meaningful church retreat, but I never experienced true “revival” until I found my community, Church of the Highlands.

I learned that revival doesn’t have to be something we look forward to once a year when an animated fired-up evangelist visits a church. Revival is a gift we can receive each day with the choice to feed on HIM in community throughout the week, not just Sundays. It’s not about checking off a list —

IT’S A GET TO, NOT A GOT TO!

Today, I wanted to spotlight Church of the Highlands as we celebrate our 10 YEAR ANNIVERSARY. I know that many of you reading this blog are actively involved in other “life-giving” communities. I just thought this would encourage you to keep chasing God in the concept of “community” because we all need each other!

Below is a link celebrating what the Lord has done at Church of the Highlands over the past 10 years. It all started with the vision of Senior Pastor Chris Hodges that led to the obedience of 34 people inspired to plant a worship home in Birmingham on February 4, 2001. The link includes a timeline, a video of the birth and history of the church, Mini-Stories of Highlands, and messages from our leaders. I think it will inspire you to reach to “higher heights” no matter where you are in your journey with Christ. 

http://10.churchofthehighlands.com/

Happy Birthday Church of the Highlands! Thank you for the amazing impact you have made in my life and the lives of so many others!

It’s ALL BECAUSE of JESUS I’M ALIVE!!
Smiles Because of HIM!
SUSIE MC SELLERS

 

 

8 Responses to “Verse and Message (Week of Feb 5-12, 2011)”

  1. Diane Polito Says:

    Thanks so much for taking the time to develop this devotion site. I too am thankful to the Church of the Highalands. We visited 9 years ago and still there. Through a bad circumstance going on in our lives my husband carried our son to the Highlands. And what looked bad at that time in our lives brought a whole new meaning to our lives. Our family is now in Church together. Sunday morning, Wednesday night and small groups. Has brought my husband into a new ream of life. You see he was raised Catholic and did not know the love of Christ. He is the first one up on Sunday morning and waiting for Wednesday night. Our lives have change and continue to change working with the people on Thursday nights at Dream Center . Well what more can I say “Praise God and Because of Him I can face tomorrow.”

    • susiemc Says:

      BEAUTIFUL TESTIMONY Diane! Thank you so much for sharing! God turns the bad around to good to glorify HIM! Isn’t it wonderful?!! Your words reflect the amazing LIGHT of our LORD! Keep on telling your story!!! Jeremiah 29:11

  2. Janice T. Says:

    Congratulations on 10 years of Highlands Church Ministry.
    Also, congratulations on your marriage. I have not had the chance to respond before now. Keep prospering WOMAN OF GOD!!!!

    Agape,
    Janice T.
    ( your Joel Restaurant acquaintance sister in the Lord )

    • susiemc Says:

      Janice…you are so sweet! I consider you more than my acquaintance sister from Joel’s Restaurant! It seems I have known you for a lifetime. God bless you and your husband and your thriving worship home! WE are all in this together to make our JESUS even more famous! May the favor of God continue to shine on you, and thank you for your precious well wishes regarding my marriage. I receive it in JESUS NAME! Great to hear from you!
      Love you and hoping we can meet at Joel’s again soon! HUGS …Susie 🙂

  3. Kathy Skeels Says:

    Susie,

    I just wanted to say that your blog this week is AWESOME as usual!!! Nice touch with the COTH 10 Year Anniversary video!

    • susiemc Says:

      Kathy,
      Thank you so much for your encouraging comment! I appreciate you so much! God bless you as you continue to radiate Jesus in our COTH home!
      Hugs and Smiles…..
      Susie Mc

  4. Benita Says:

    Your blog is wonderful this week. Thank You !


Leave a Reply

