Susie Mc

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Verse and Message (Week of July 11-17, 2010) July 12, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — susiemc @ 1:45 pm

 

 
Matthew 25:21
“His master replied, ‘Well done, good and faithful servant! You have been faithful with a few things; I will put you in charge of many things. Come and share your master’s happiness!’
  

 

2 Timothy 4:7
I have fought the good fight, I have finished the race, I have kept the faith.

 
Robert (Bob) Hodges finished well. I have enjoyed hearing stories that Pastor Chris Hodges (Church of the Highlands) would share with the Highlands family regarding the impact his earthly father has had in his life. Mr. Bob went on to be with the Lord on Tuesday, June 29. The entire family of Hodges moved to Birmingham 10 years ago to start Church of the Highlands. Mr. Bob served as the Administrator since the beginning of this beautiful Spirit-filled community.
 
As I prayed for the family during this time of reflection of Bob’s life, I couldn’t help but consider how well he lived out his dash. Bob Hodges was an incredible example of a true ambassador for our Savior, Jesus Christ. I wanted to share something with my readers today that may provide inspiration of following such a pattern.
 
The Dash Poem is about how you live that “little line” (the dash) between the date of your birth and the date of your death. It is a wonderful poem, with a compelling message, which I think we all should consider.
 
Linda Ellis, the author of “The Dash” desires to convey the following through this “relatively simple rhythmic lesson on life”:
 
 
“Living a dash that you can be proud of doesn’t mean trying to be perfect and changing yourself to fit the mold of what people tend to think of as a “good” person.  To me, it means doing the best you can every day to live a life which may someday allow you to leave behind a legacy of kindness, love and laughter.  I try to think every day of what people will remember of me, should I not see tomorrow.  Someone once said, if you want to know how to live your life, think about what you want people to say about you when you’re gone, and live backwards. That is a great strategy.” 
 
 
One day when it is my time to meet with The Maker, I hope that people would ponder my dash with a smile. When we have been given the gift of our Lord’s signature on our lives, it’s significant to live out a dash that represents Christ, who lived a PERFECT DASH.  We must remember that it matters not how we start off in this life…..what matters is how we finished the race. If we live with a pure heart for Eternity, we are guaranteed to win that race marked out for us.
 
HOW ARE YOU SPENDING YOUR DASH?
ARE YOU MAKING A DIFFERENCE FOR ETERNITY?
Gold Cross
THE LEGACY WE LEAVE MATTERS!
SUSIE MC
 

Leave a Reply

