Susie Mc

Just another WordPress.com weblog

April 28, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — susiemc @ 6:11 pm
Bike Riding
 
Sources of this week’s verse and message:
Church of the Highlands L.I.F.E. Program Manual
“One Minute Bible”
 
Romans 8:15-16; 22-23 

I do not understand what I do. For what I want to do I do not do, but what I hate I do. And if I do what I do not want to do, I agree that the law is good. For in my inner being I delight in God’s law; but I see another law at work in the members of my body, waging war against the law of my mind and making me a prisoner of the law of sin at work within my members.

 
We have been given the beautiful grace of Jesus Christ, but we cannot begin to attempt to live a life for Him on our own power. We must depart from “self.” We must die to “self.” We must fully surrender our old nature, so that He can fully clothe us in His righteousness.
 
Our sinful nature is made up of three parts:
 
*Our SPIRIT that never dies and must be redeemed by Christ.
The blood of Jesus covers ONLY the spirit. When God sees us, he sees our spirit which is perfect because of Christ.
 
*A SOUL that must be restored.
Our souls includes our mind, will, and emotions.
–Our mind thinks and reasons.
–Our will makes decisions.
–Our emotions tap into the “feeling” part of us.
 
*A BODY that must be tamed.
Our BODY is the flesh part of our being.
 
God’s plan is that our SPIRIT becomes the strongest part of our being. When the SPIRIT leads the pack, then we are able to live in consistent victory. We were justified upon salvation, but we are being sanctified day by day as we continue to line our spirit with His Spirit.
 
We cannot continue feeding the soul and body as we did prior to salvation if we want to have success over our sin nature in this world. Straddling the fence will make us miserable and will put a bad taste in our Lord’s mouth. (Revelation 3:16 So, because you are lukewarm—neither hot nor cold—I am about to spit you out of my mouth.)
When we accept Christ as our personal Savior, we have to detach from that “old nature.” Our new relationship with Christ won’t allow us to “have our cake and eat it too,”– if we ever hope to grow in a strong relationship with Him.
 
At salvation, He gives us a new heart with a guarantee of complete protection against the punishment of hell. In addition, His Holy Spirit provides us with a fresh awareness of God’s presence that will lead us to a new way of thinking.
 
Unfortunately, we begin to realize that an old friend is still hanging around. Our hearts might be in heaven, but our feet are still here on the ground. The person we used to be still has a say in daily choices and tries to remind us of the fun we used to have together before our spirit was submitted to Christ. We are torn between the holiness of the God we love and the temptations of the world that still know how to play our song. The sinful self is indeed beaten, but he’s not going without a fight. Thus, there is a war in our hearts deciding which part drives the train. 

 

Below I have included a link to a song I believe reflects the battle we struggle with and how we can overcome the pull between the spirit, soul, and body. Since old habits don’t go away overnight and may be a nagging source of frustration, we must realize that God has equipped us with the same power that raised Christ from the dead. That is the ONLY power that we can embrace and use in order to rise above the irritating old nature. When we embrace His Power, we can say “So Long Self.” And, as we live in freedom everyday through abiding in Him (by using weapons of prayer, Scripture, worship, thanksgiving, accountability, etc,) it becomes easier everyday. His grace is sufficient–and the JOY of the Lord gives us supernatural strength and peace.
 
Check out the lyrics and song entitled “So Long Self” by Mercy Me:
 
 
Well if I come across a little bit distant
It’s just because I am
Things just seem to feel a little bit different
You understand
Believe it or not but life is not apparently
About me anyways
But I have met the One who really is worthy
So let me say 
 Goodbye 
So long, self
Well, it’s been fun, but I have found somebody else
So long, self
There’s just no room for two
So you are gonna have to move
So long, self
Don’t take this wrong but you are wrong for me, farewell
Oh well, goodbye, don’t cry
So long, self

Stop right there because I know what you’re thinking
But no we can’t be friends
And even though I know your heart is breaking
This has to end
And come to think of it the blame for all of this
Simply falls on me
For wanting something more in life than all of this
Can’t you see

Don’t feel so bad (don’t feel so bad)
There’ll be better days (there’ll be better days)
Don’t go away mad (but by all means)
Just go away, go away

 

SO….SO LONG SELF!

JESUS HAS MY NUMBER NOW!

SUSIE MC

 

Leave a Reply

