Susie Mc

Just another WordPress.com weblog

April 8, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — susiemc @ 4:14 pm

 

Luke 10:19  I have given you the authority to trample on snakes and scorpions and to overcome all the power of the enemy; nothing will harm you.    

Snake 2 

1 Peter 1:3-4 (The Message)  Because Jesus was raised from the dead, we’ve been given a brand-new life, and have everything to live for, including a future in heaven.   

Have you ever been so angry with someone that you decided to write them a letter just to make sure you wouldn’t leave anything out when communicating your feelings? Whether you intended to send the letter to the recipient or not, it probably made you feel better to release your frustrations so that it wouldn’t be bottled up inside just waiting like a time bomb to explode. Ignoring your feelings, or pretending the person who irritates you doesn’t exist doesn’t solve matters.    My buddy Sam Maniscalco wrote a remarkable post this past weekend in letter form that I couldn’t help but sharing. I have edited portions of his note, and I have included some of my thoughts. I am certain this message is sure to stir you up….and it should. The recipient of the correspondence was Satan. We have a real enemy and he is at war with us. However, we also have the best ally that we could ever hope for or imagine in Jesus Christ. Check out this bold letter Sam wrote to Satan….  

Satan, 

There’s so much that I want to say to you, so many things that I’ve wanted to tell you, but haven’t because of fear of what you may try to do me. No more. My faith in my Father is stronger than any feelings that I may have about you. 

You see, you stand for everything that I’m not. I’ve spent some time searching even the darkest corners of my mind; those uncomfortable places where we like to hide the traits that we’re not very proud of such as hatred, greed, envy, lust, and prejudice. Gratefully, my relationship with God has allowed me to distance myself from all of those tools that are in your arsenal of self-destructive weapons.  

You’re like a bird of prey, only worse. When it comes to your victims, you have no favorites; all are subjected to being exposed to your evil ways. At some point in the lives of everyone, non-believers and believers alike, your evil seeds are planted.  

I know that you have been hard at work lately, especially the week leading up to Easter. You’ve done everything in your power to distract those who have their eyes on Jesus. The prospects of lost children being saved cannot make you happy. Every soul that is born again into God’s family signifies yet another death in yours. You don’t like having your ranks thinned, do you? 

I wonder; are your primary targets the easier ones? Do you go after them first, or do you just save them for dessert? Do you take more pleasure in your attempt to destroy the lives of committed Christians, the ones that walk with God each day? Are you willing to do whatever it takes to derail them from their journey with Jesus? 

I’m curious, Satan, if you were smiling when they nailed Jesus to the cross? Did you consider His crucifixion to be your greatest victory since the fall of man in the Garden when you manipulated Adam and Eve? 

Did you have any idea that Jesus’ death at the hands of man would open the gates of heaven, making it POSSIBLE for ALL to enter? I bet that you’re still having a hard time swallowing that one. 

Sam along with two other members at Highlands were chosen to share their testimonies about what God has done in their lives. A video capturing their thoughts was shown at every service this past Easter weekend. Sam was humbled and honored to share with thousands of people what was on his mind and  heart about God and the love that he has for Jesus. To view the Easter service that includes Sam’s amazing story, go to the following link: 

http://www.churchofthehighlands.com/media/message/this-is-my-story#play-video 

–The testimonies are about 24 minutes into the video– 

Sam also shared in his letter that the devil  had been wreaking havoc in his life since the video was shot two weeks ago. Sam expressed that Satan’s efforts had been relentless. Here’s where he picks up next in the letter….. 

I knew that you were coming. I braced myself for your attempts to dim God’s light that shines in me. You wanted to rob me of the joy of serving God and His people. I prepared myself for you as best I could. 

And you learned something about me, didn’t you? I too, am relentless. I’m gonna love God, and serve Him, and seek more of Him every day. You’re strong enough to knock me down from time to time, I’ll give you that. But He is gonna give me the strength to get back up again.   

Your intentions to weaken me have only served to make me stronger. I am more dedicated to God now than I was before. Nothing that you use against me will prosper in Jesus Precious Name. 

I sit here reflecting on my life with God in it. I am so humbled by His presence in me and so thankful that I’ve come to know Jesus. 

Easter was an amazing day for my wife Jackie and me. We have grown so much since we made God a true part of our marriage. I believe that, in some strange way, both of us recognized that this weekend. 

Something else happened this weekend that surprised me.  

I was absolutely fed up with you and your scheming ways, and I was ready to tell you where to go (which you are already there). But then I realized that by doing so, I would have allowed you to win. You want me to have hatred in my heart don’t you? You want me to be so blinded by rage that I take my focus off of God.  

Guess what? It’s not gonna happen. 

Instead, I’m going to say “Thank You.” 

Thank you for convincing Eve to eat the forbidden fruit. Thank you for convincing man to crucify Jesus. Without this, I wouldn’t have known what it would be like to walk with Jesus each day. Without Christ dying on the Cross, I wouldn’t know my Savior or the gift of salvation.  

Sweet Victory… 

That’s it for now. I’m sure that you’ll be in touch.  

So will I. 

Sam

Sam Maniscalco
The Seed of Hope
www.TheSeedOfHope.com
sam@theseedofhope.com
205-422-9727

So friends…..remember that although our enemy has power, OUR JESUS IS THE TRUMP CARD! As Christians, we are MORE THAN CONQUERORS IN JESUS. The only letter or letters that are necessary to write to Satan are spelled out J-E-S-U-S! Thank you Sam for your intriguing letter to the enemy….it really makes one think! Claim your victory in Jesus….our Savior Forever!

SUSIE MC
 
 

 
 

 

Leave a Reply

