Susie Mc

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Verse and Message (Week of March 14-20, 2010) March 18, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — susiemc @ 3:48 am
 

   
  
 
HAPPY ST. PATRICK’S DAY!!
 
Proverbs 17:24 (GN)
An intelligent person aims at wise action, but a fool starts off in many directions.
  Walking Into The Wall
Matthew 11:28 (NIV)
Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest.
  
Kelli Ryan, a dear sister in Christ who writes an online weekly devotional similar to my ministry, sent me a profound message that captured my attention. It’s an eye-opening message that I felt we could all feed on. I have paraphrased her words, and I have included my own thoughts as well….
  
Do you feel as though you sometimes carry the weight of the world?
Earth 
Are you heavy-headed and heavy-hearted?
Are you loaded up or weighed down?
Have stressed, distressed, oppressed, and depressed become close friends of yours?
Have you ever gotten the prayer knocked out of you?
It’s worse than getting the air knocked out of you….
Are you drained, fatigued, slap worn-out?
Do any of these concerns ring true in your life?
Ice Water
“A lecturer, when explaining stress management to an audience, raised a
glass of water and asked, ‘How heavy is this glass of water?’  Answers
called out ranged from 20g to 500g.  The lecturer replied, ‘The absolute
weight doesn’t matter.  Its practical weight depends on how long you
try to hold it.  If I hold it for a minute, that’s not a problem.  If I
hold it for an hour, I’ll have an ache in my right arm.  If I hold it
for a day, you’ll have to call an ambulance.  In each case, it’s the
same weight, but the longer I hold it, the heavier it becomes.’  He
continued, ‘And that’s the way it is with stress and its management.  If
we carry our burdens all the time, sooner or later, as the burden
becomes increasingly heavy, we won’t be able to carry on.’ ” 

Author Unknown

  

I read this message, and I felt as if it had been written for me. Each day we wake up to face a plethora of choices. We make decisions in every area of our lives based on what we eat, what we wear, where we go, who we connect with each day, what we say, how we choose to react to challenging situations, and how we respond to people and circumstances throughout our day.

  

A lot of times, things happen to us that are out of our control, however, we do have a choice as to how we will respond. I tend to err on the side of harmony. Most of us say “yes” or “no” based on our availability–not based on a wise choice. I have difficulty saying “no” or “not now.” This has gotten me in a host of trouble, because I am apt to over commit my life, which leads to the phenomenon of being stressed out. STRESS is defined as a “constraining force or influence” according to Merriam-Webster online.

  

The society we live in is extremely demanding for even the most laid back individual. That is why I have tried to seek God to maintain a balance in my priorities. Granted, a systematic “type A” lifestyle cannot be accommodated 100% of the time, because that in itself causes restricted pressure. However, I have learned that if I don’t start my day seeking God’s wisdom, the whole day can transform into a whirlwind of confusion.

 

It’s amazing to me that when I choose to give the Lord my “first fruits” of the day, He supernaturally redeems my time. I am able to stay on task more effectively, and I finish the day feeling satisfied with how I have succeeded due to His direction.

 

I could write for days on this subject, but I just wanted to remind everyone that if we don’t determine how we will define our time and priorities, someone else will be ready to hop on that bandwagon to influence how we will use our time. When I fail to allow the Lord to carry the burden of decisions and choices I have to make each day, I become overwhelmed and weary.

 Prayer 

It’s significant to be aware that even Jesus had to go off to a quiet place to worship and pray. If the One Who Was and Is Perfect, had to slip off and get His day organized through prayer and meditation, why would we ever imagine that we could accomplish daily tasks and issues without first consulting our Guide. His Guidance makes way for margin in our lives as well as adding an extra portion of peace when something unexpected takes place….and might I add that something unexpected should be expected.

 

MAKE MARGIN FOR THE MESSIAH….

Jesus FishHIS MESSAGE TO US EACH DAY MAKES THINGS MORE THAN MANAGEABLE….

TOO BLESSED TO BE STRESSED…..YOU BET!

SUSIE MC

**See the attached photo I took of a sunset one evening at Church of the Highlands a couple weeks ago….now that should release some stress!**

 

Leave a Reply

