Susie Mc

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Verse and Message (Week of March 7-13, 2010) March 11, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — susiemc @ 5:29 pm



1 Samuel 3:10

And the Lord came and called as before, “Samuel! Samuel!”
And Samuel replied, “Yes, your servant is listening.”
 Ear 
Psalm 46:10a
“Be still, and know that I am God.”
 
If you are like me, there are times you desire for the Lord to speak to you in an audible voice? I used to think it was like a game of charades. Why did I have to keep guessing which direction to take? I wanted to be confident with the decisions that I made. 
 
I have several close friends experiencing confusion and disappointment lately. I don’t have the answers, and sometimes I get frustrated when the encouragement I offer doesn’t seem to go very far. However, I realize that encouragement alone doesn’t make God’s voice any louder.
 
The Spirit reveals things to us through studying and meditating on His Word, through times spent in worship and prayer, and through godly people in our lives.
 
When I dig into Scripture, spend time in worship and prayer, and share time with other God chasers, I am more apt to hear Him speak. He is always working on my behalf, and for that matter, He communicates His will consistently. The problem arises when I refuse to listen, because I am going my own way, or I get distracted. We cannot expect to discern direction in our lives if we don’t work on our relationship with Him by observing the aforementioned techniques.
 
It’s like having an infection and refusing to take medication. The spirit will die, because of the contagions of the world. It’s also like playing hooky from school or work. We will miss out on knowledge if we skip school. In the same way, we will miss out on God if we blow off His wisdom. Also, we bypass provision if we don’t go to work. It’s like being out of touch with loved ones; relationships can grow stale when we don’t give an effort. We must equip ourselves to handle life according to God’s way in order to stay tuned to His cues. 
 
Several years ago, I was struggling through a complicated and painful situation. I was in my car praying and begging God for a sign or a word to reveal His presence. That evening as I got into bed and turned off my lights, my eyes widened as I witnessed an image of the cross displayed on my wall. The symbol of that cross created from the reflection of a street light beaming through my blinds resonates with me still, as I have never doubted His presence again. I knew at that moment He would never leave me. I also was given the comfort to know that He understood exactly how I felt.
 
We have all been through trouble and despair, but we can be sure of His presence if we would simply keep our eyes fixed on Him. We may be too busy attempting to control or manipulate our circumstances. If we seek Him and pay attention, we might be surprised at the incredible insight we’ll receive. He knows each of us personally, but He wants us to KNOW HIM PERSONALLY, not just as an acquaintance. Take time today to quiet yourself and listen to the One who wants your undivided attention! He wants to reassure you of His incredible love and presence!
 
BLESSED ASSURANCE!
Fish 2
STOP,LOOK, AND LISTEN TO OUR SOVEREIGN SAVIOR!
JEHOVAH ROI IS THE ONE WHO SEES US!
SUSIE MC
 

Leave a Reply

