Susie Mc

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Verse and Message (Week of Feb 14-20, 2010) February 19, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — susiemc @ 5:33 am
Philippians 4:12 (The Message)
Whatever I have, wherever I am, I can make it through anything in the One Who makes me who I am.
Window
James 1:4 (The Message)
So don’t try to get out of anything prematurely. Let it do its work so you become mature and well-developed, not deficient in any way.
 
I am leading a small group for high school girls on Tuesday evenings. This was the second week of the semester session. Typically, my almost 15-year-old son goes to his dad’s on Tuesday nights, however, this week the schedule was adjusted differently. My mom had her bunko party at her home the same night, so my dad had to find something to do while the group of women met there as well. Connor told me that he would be fine playing his guitar for a couple of hours in the office next to his bedroom.
Guitar 2 
I warned him not to come out unless I gave him permission, because this was a delicate time for these young women to work on LIFE and connect with God and each other. I encouraged him that this was a good time for him to catch up on his “cave time” …something most men relish. In this particular instance, just knowing that he was restricted or rather stranded in the office nearly drove him crazy. However, it’s interesting to note that if I had not been hosting the small group, he would have still had his “cave time” playing the guitar, and I wouldn’t have been able to drag him out of there.
 
The morning following the small group, I received a “positive quote for the day” from Josh Beck, a brother in Christ. I laughed out loud when I read the quote as it directly complimented the prior evening’s predicament with Connor. Here’s the timely quote I received:
 
“It’s so hard when I have to, and so easy when I want to.” Annie Gottlier
 
Isn’t it true that when we are forced to do something, it doesn’t seem appealing? On the flip-side, when we have the desire to do something, it’s the easiest task to approach.
 
Take going to church for example. When I was growing up, I went to church, because I had to go. Now, I don’t “got to” go to church — I “GET TO” go to church!
  Cross 
Hence the reason God doesn’t “make” us love Him.  He isn’t interested in a bunch of robots. He wants us to “choose” to love Him. When we delight to follow His perfect will for our lives…it’s a “WIN-WIN.” That’s the reason my #1 prayer to the Lord each day is that my desires would reflect his desires.
Prayer 
“Prayer involves transformed passions. In prayer, real prayer, we begin to think God’s thoughts after Him: to desire the things He desires, to love the things He loves, to will the things He wills.” (Richard J Foster)
 
It’s truly all about perspective. So, if you are in a place in your life that you would rather not be….take a minute to appreciate it for what it is.  Recognize that the circumstances in your life are not just “chance.” Where you are is not a surprise to God. In addition, “this too shall pass.” Your situation is 100% guaranteed to change…because nothing ever stays the same…except GOD! He was the SAME YESTERDAY, He is the SAME TODAY, and will continue to be the SAME TOMORROW! What a relief!
 
So many times we want to run ahead of God and be in another place in our life.  Solmething funny happens though when we finally make it that “place” we so yearn. We look back and reminisce the place where we once were. We begin to appreciate the intricate details that we didn’t recognize at the time.
 
So, make a choice to be happy where you are right now. Don’t squirm, sigh, or panic. You are exactly where you are supposed to be. You might realize how sweet it is….especially when you remember to “consider it all joy.”
 
LEARN TO EMBRACE GOD’S TIMING WHERE YOU ARE RIGHT NOW!
It's All Good
HE SEES THE BIG PICTURE, AND HE IS A FATHER WHO KNOWS BEST!
SUSIE MC
 

Leave a Reply

