Susie Mc

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Verse and Message (Week of January 10-16, 2010) January 11, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — susiemc @ 2:58 pm

Archives of my weekly Verse and Message can be found at my blog link:
https://susiemc.wordpress.com
 
2 Corinthians 3:5 (NLT)
It is not that we think we are qualified to do anything on our own. Our qualification comes from God.
 Make A Wish

On Friday I celebrated the sixth birthday of my new life. Actually, I have been a child of God since I was about seven years old; however, I didn’t embrace Him as my Father and Friend until I truly came to know Him in an intimate way beginning on January 8, 2004.
 
I had been living life as if I didn’t have a Savior. I was living life on my own. I was struggling in many areas, and I thought I could fix it all. I was trying to save myself–I was in control…or so I thought. It was exhausting!
Well, I finally gave up in the tug of war when I re-dedicated my life to Christ on that cold January evening. I realized, I had already made a mess of my life, and it was getting worse by the minute. It wasn’t easy to surrender. In a strange kind of way, I was angry that I had given up on myself. I declared sarcastically, “I give up God–I’m all yours, hit me with your best shot.” I didn’t really think anything would change….but I had no other choice unless I wanted to continue hanging out with my buddy, Misery. I figured, what did I have to lose?….maybe God could do something. Could? Ha
 
AND HE DID. I have never been the same. Talk about transformation…that defining moment gave new meaning to the word change.
 
A.W. Tozer said, “The reason why many are still troubled, still seeking, still making little forward progress is because they haven’t yet come to the end of themselves. We’re still trying to give orders, and interfering with God’s work within us.”
 
Oftentimes, we don’t seek God until we come to the end of our rope. What’s truly amazing is that God is at the end of that rope if we will just reach for Him and allow Him to save us.
 
To close, I wanted to share a remarkable illustration I read the other day via an email I received from Rick Warren’s “Purpose Driven Connection.” I think it clarifies specifically where I was six years ago before I truly surrendered my entire life to Him.
Lifeguard 
“One thing every lifeguard knows is that you can’t save anybody who’s trying to save themselves. If you’ve ever watched a lifeguard approach a person who is drowning, you will see the lifeguard swim out to the person and then just tread water. The lifeguard will watch the swimmer flail around until he or she finally gives up and goes limp. At that point the lifeguard can simply put an arm around the swimmer’s shoulder and swim back to shore. It’s that easy! But as long as the swimmer is trying to save him or herself, then no one can save him or her. If you grab onto swimmers before they give up on trying to save themselves, they’ll pull you down with them. You’ve got to wait until they stop trying to save themselves, then you can save them. In the same way, God can’t save you until you stop trying to save yourself.”
 
I find that many of us who have received the gift of salvation still act like we don’t need the Savior. We try to force our own will and push through life on our own power. We will never have enough strength on our own to survive….we can exist….but merely existing does not equate to living in His Truth and Power for the Victorious LIFE He gave us! I am so grateful that I am no longer fiercely flailing….I had to LET GO AND LET GOD!
  
REACH FOR THE LIFE PRESERVER!
Gold Cross
HOW CAN WE CALL HIM LORD…
WHEN WE DON’T ALLOW HIM TO BE THE LORD OF OUR LIVES?
HE IS SAVIOR…BECAUSE HE DIED TO SAVE US!!
SUSIE MC
Prayer 
*Please join Church of the Highlands as we observe 21 Days of Prayer and Fasting January 10-30.*

 

Leave a Reply

