Susie Mc

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Verse and Message (Week of Sept 20-26, 2009) September 24, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — susiemc @ 1:17 pm

 Leaf Pile

Ephesians 4:27
Do not give the devil a foothold.
Knight 
Ephesians 6:10-11; 14-18a
Put on the full ARMOR OF GOD so that you can take your stand against the devil’s schemes. Stand firm then, with the BELT OF TRUTH buckled around your waist, with the BREASTPLATE OF RIGHTEOUSNESS in place and with your feet fitted with the readiness that comes from the SHOES OF THE GOSPEL OF PEACE. In addition, take up the SHIELD OF FAITH, with which you can extinguish all the flaming arrows of the evil one. Take the HELMET OF SALVATION and the SWORD OF THE SPIRIT, which is the WORD OF GOD. And PRAY IN THE SPIRIT on all occasions with all kinds of prayers and requests.
  
I have a favorite pair of jeans that I really can’t live without. Ok, well, if I had to give them up I could, but I wouldn’t want to. They are so comfortable, and the crazy thing — I paid for them with holes and fray already manifested within them.
Pants 2 
Saturday, I volunteered at the ERA / Oxford Realty 8K that Johnny and Liz Montgomery host each third Saturday in September. I decided I would wear my “holy” jeans as I like to call them, because they are truly set-apart from the rest of my denim choices, and I wanted to be comfortable. 
 
The weather here in Birmingham has been anything but dry. It’s possible we have had enough rain in the past couple of weeks to make up for the lack of rain that occurred last year. The problem with consistent rainfall is that there’s a particular insect that thrives in the overwhelming humidity. This insect happens to be one of my least favorite of God’s creatures (which I would be hard-pressed to include a pair for the ark that I considered building). They are a pesky nuisance of the insect family – mosquitoes.
Rainy 
I am a magnet to those pests. They will find a place to feast on my body no matter what I am wearing. If there is one mosquito in a room of one hundred people, I will certainly be the target. Well, that wet day at the race, those irritants managed to find the holes and fray in my jeans…and they had a party. I am still scratching those bites….OUCH. 
 
The Lord dropped in my spirit an interesting revelation as I was scratching that afternoon. Mosquitoes attack what is most vulnerable. Mosquitoes have no mercy. Mosquitos suck the life out of you.
 
I realize that there have been times in my journey when I have become complacent and slack in my walk. Such negligence has allowed holes or fray in my spirit for the enemy to set up a tailgate and have a party. These moments can cause so much discomfort that it’s difficult to focus on anything else. We cannot allow ourselves to become vulnerable, lest the devil will get a foothold.
 
We have to protect ourselves with the Full Armor of God, and we must stay alert in order to resist his bites of vengeance. We cannot leave one crevice open.
 
According to Charles Stanley’s words in When the Enemy Strikes, there are four goals of our enemy:
 
1.  To draw you away from God.
2.  To thwart God’s purpose from your life.
3.  To deny the glory of God in your life.
4.  To destroy you in any way he can, including physical health.
–Just a sidenote I recall from literature class–
Would you believe another name for the devil is “Old Scratch?”
 
It’s important to recognize that Jesus overcame the powers of darkness in His work at the Cross, and we have been given the authority to trample on snakes and scorpions…and mosquitoes. The Blood of the Lamb extinguished all demonic powers.
 
Nonetheless, our enemy is a liar and he will attempt to brainwash us into believing that we are powerless against his schemes. The key is to keep our eyes on Christ. When we take our eyes off of Jesus, we are apt to compromise initially….and compromise eventually leads to destruction. On the flipside, the more captivated we are by our Savior, the less sin and temptations will entice us. 
 
We must guard our hearts and minds and we need to be intent on calling on our Body Guard each morning to walk with us. Don’t get “comfortable”….stay alert and wear the full armor consistently.
The most active piece of armor is The Sword of the Spirit. When used accurately, effectively, and consistently the Word of God NEVER FAILS.. Jesus proved it’s effectiveness in the wilderness when satan tempted Him.
Bible 1 
And, lastly, the enemy’s powers are annihilated if we stand strong in prayer. Prayer provides us discernment and direction, greater awareness of sin that we need to confess, and prayer gives us added energy and strength.
 Prayer
Pesky mosquitoes crave blood, but we know that satan shivers at the thought of the BLOOD OF JESUS. The primary benefit of redemption as Christians is that we are covered in the BLOOD OF JESUS. But the POWER OF THE BLOOD is only active when we apply His repellant daily and CLAIM IT IN HIS NAME!
 
The Enemy attacks what is most vulnerable.
IN CHRIST WE ARE PROTECTED AND VICTORIOUS!
Jesus Fish
The enemy has no mercy.
THE MERCY AND GRACE OF OUR SAVIOR IS ETERNAL!
Gold Cross
The enemy will suck the life out of you.
JESUS CHRIST IS THE WAY, THE TRUTH, AND THE LIFE!
SUSIE MC

 

Leave a Reply

