Susie Mc

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Verse and Message (Week of Sept 6-12, 2009) September 11, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — susiemc @ 1:35 am

 Moonwalker

James 1:2
Consider it pure joy, my brothers, whenever you face trials of many kinds.
 Jumping Rope 
Each day we face all kinds of situations that can frustrate or upset us. We wake up late, we forget to put the garbage out, we can’t find our keys, we get caught in traffic, etc. Little inconveniences that can make living life a strain sometimes will take on a domino effect. You have all heard the phrases, “If it’s not one thing, it’s another” or “When it rains, it pours” or “What else can go wrong?” By the way…don’t ask that last question too often, because it can always get worse.
 Dominos
Truthfully, sometimes things do seem to snowball. Something may happen, and we get past it like last week when I got a speeding ticket. I am not saying I wasn’t speeding, but there were a gazillion roadblocks in my day, and when I finally got past all the starts and stops, I was on a mission to accomplish an important task…like taking something to my sons school. He had a “well check-up” last Monday, and we had forgotten to get his doctor’s excuse. I was able to get the “well check-up” doctor’s excuse to the school after being pulled over only to have a repeat doctor’s visit that evening, because Connor came home, YES that same day, with Swine Flu. I remembered to pick up the doctors excuse this time, and then headed to the pharmacy in hot pursuit of Tami-flu (but no speeding this time). Unfortunately, the computers were down. I had several prescriptions waiting but couldn’t purchase them without proper operation of the computer system. I felt like I handled it all pretty well. I felt that God gave me a proper dose of patience…
 Police + Sickly+ Pill Bottle +Throw Computer
UNTIL….Thursday night when I was in the process of sending out my verse and message, my computer system went down. It took hours to send my weekly message when I finally threw my hands in the air and asked God, “What’s the deal…here I am serving you, and you are allowing this computer glitch to hinder me from sharing your Word?” He stopped me in my tracks quickly……..He said…..”Consider my brother, Paul.” What an eye opener…..and a clear reminder my friends. Check this out….
 
2 Corinthians 11:23-27 (The Message)
I’ve worked much harder, been jailed more often, beaten up more times than I can count, and at death’s door time after time. I’ve been flogged five times with the Jews’ thirty-nine lashes, beaten by Roman rods three times, pummeled with rocks once. I’ve been shipwrecked three times, and immersed in the open sea for a night and a day. In hard traveling year in and year out, I’ve had to ford rivers, fend off robbers, struggle with friends, struggle with foes. I’ve been at risk in the city, at risk in the country, endangered by desert sun and sea storm, and betrayed by those I thought were my brothers. I’ve known drudgery and hard labor, many a long and lonely night without sleep, many a missed meal, blasted by the cold, naked to the weather.
Bible 1 
When we are running against the enemy in furtherance of the Gospel, why would we expect it to be a cakewalk? The enemy will do whatever he can to break us down and wear us out. The enemy wants us to throw up our hands and give up the Cause of Christ. And, WHY? Because it’s working….our efforts to share the Love of JESUS is working my friends.
 
Paul risked his life each and every day as he served the Lord. I hardly risk my life….and I was complaining about an internet inconvenience? The good news…. I did get the good news out as God allows each week! Sometimes, it’s important not to take for granted the freedom that we still have to share the Gospel. I wouldn’t have wanted to walk in Paul’s shoes….but more importantly, I will NEVER suffer an ounce of what Christ endured, much less Paul’s experiences.
 Fish 2
Don’t let frustrations and inconveniences in life wear you down….in other words, don’t sweat the small stuff. Instead of sweating it…give it ALL to the Lord. He wants it all. He wants to lift the burden of everything, whether it’s true tough stuff or minor annoyances you face.  
 
CONSIDER JESUS….HE GAVE IT ALL!
Gold Cross
LIFE IS GOOD when you are running with Jesus!
Running
CONSIDER IT ALL JOY, because of the JOY in JESUS set before us!
SUSIE MC
 

Leave a Reply

