Susie Mc

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Verse and Message (Week of Aug 16-22, 2009) August 19, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — susiemc @ 1:52 pm

Sunshine  

Exodus 3:13-14

Moses said to God, “Suppose I go to the Israelites and say to them, ‘The God of your fathers has sent me to you,’ and they ask me, ‘What is his name?’ Then what shall I tell them?” God said to Moses, “I am who I am . This is what you are to say to the Israelites: ‘I AM has sent me to you.’
 Bible 1 
One of the most interesting conversations in the Bible to me occurred when God instructed Moses to go to Pharaoh to lead the children of Israel out of Egypt. I guess I think this is kind of funny, because I can so see myself in Moses sandals. I mean, this was a tall order, and Moses is thinking, has God lost His mind?
 
God is asking Moses to do something that in the natural seems to be an impossible feat. Moses asks, “Why me?” Confidence was not a quality Moses could boast at the time. Moses wondered how in the world he would be able to convince Pharaoh that the God of Abraham, Isaac, and Jacob had sent him with these instructions.
 
God said to Moses, “I-AM-WHO-I-AM. Tell the People of Israel, ‘I-AM sent me to you.'”
 
People, God is the God of the Universe. He can and will do anything He pleases. He doesn’t need our help, and He doesn’t need our permission. We have to trust Him no matter how bizarre something may appear to us. When God is asking us to do something seemingly impossible, we must recognize that we are not doing it….He is doing the impossible through us. We are simply His vessel to demonstrate His Glory! It’s a gift to be used by God!
 
My real point for this message is to share how important declaring the Names of God can be for us. I have learned that when I worship Him in calling Him by name, my confidence is strengthened. As a child of the King, I am able to receive those qualities if I choose to embrace them. In other words, when I worship Him for Who He is, then I am claiming my confidence in Him, and I am able to inherit the fullness of His Names in me. Without Him, I am nothing. With Him, I have everything I will ever need.
 
When we say the Lord’s Prayer, the first part of this prayer that Jesus taught His disciples was to hallow His Name.
“Our Father in Heaven, hallowed be Your Name”
 
The Eight Covenant Names of God revealed when we pray The Lord’s Prayer:
Prayer 
Jehovah Tsidkenu – The Lord is Our Righteousness
Jehovah M’Kaddesh  – The Lord Who Sanctifies
Jehovah Rapha – The Lord Who Heals
Jehovah Nissi – The Lord is My Banner of Victory over the devil
Jehovah Raah – The Lord is My Shepherd
Jehovah Shalom – The Lord is Peace
Jehovah Shammah – The Lord is There/ The Lord is My Companion
Jehovah Jireh – The Lord is My Provider
 
We all like to be called by name; God loves when we worship Him by His Name. You will come to know God like you never have before, if you make a commitment to worship Him in this way consistently.
 
Lastly, I thought I would include a couple of inspiring music videos highlighting the significance of the Names of God. The first song is “I AM” by Mark Schultz. It’s a beautiful expression declaring the Names of God.
 
 
If you are interested in an extra bonus, I am also including one of my current favorite worship songs as well. 
Check out the music and lyrics to YAHWEH (New Life Worship, Ross Parsley)  
 
 
EMBRACE THE NAMES OF GOD, AND YOUR CONFIDENCE WILL GROW!
THE GREAT ‘I AM’ CAN BE EVERYTHING TO US….
IF WE LET HIM…
Jesus Fish
SUSIE MC
 

Leave a Reply

