Susie Mc

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Verse and Message (Week of March 29-April 4, 2009) March 30, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — susiemc @ 6:45 pm
Have a beautiful Palm Sunday! Hosanna! Hosanna!
 
Psalm 139:7-10
I can never escape from your spirit! I can never get away from your presence! If I go up to Heaven, you are there; if I go down to the place of the dead, you are there.  If I ride the wings of the morning, if I dwell by the farthest oceans, even there your hand will guide me, and your strength will support me. 
Gold Cross
Joshua 1:5
No one will be able to stand up against you all the days of your life. As I was with Moses, so I will be with you; I will never leave you nor forsake you.
 
Matthew 27:46
About the ninth hour Jesus cried out in aloud voice, “Eloi, Eloi, lama sabachthani?”–which means, “My God, my God, why have you forsaken me?”
 
I began going to Church of the Highlands in December of 2003. I remember the heaviness I felt in my spirit as I walked alone into the entrance of the auditorium. I was going through one of the most difficult times of my life….and somehow, even though I was a member of another worship home, I was drawn to Highlands.
 
His Presence nearly knocked me down. I knew in a millisecond, that no matter how isolated I would ever feel from that point forward, I wouldn’t allow myself to believe satan’s lie that the Lord had abandoned me. I knew I had come home again…and the key was just that…. I as in “me”…I  had come back into His loving arms. I was the one who had abandoned Him, and that is what had created the distance I had been experiencing. He was there waiting for me to return all along.  
 
Yesterday was an odd day; typically I save seats for about 8-10 of my friends.  Saving seats has become one of my spiritual gifts, ha. However, for whatever reason, not one of them showed up for this particular service. I was sitting alone. 
 
It didn’t disturb me, but it was just different. I remember thinking……I don’t remember the last time I sat alone at Church of the Highlands.  I was quickly reminded as I began to  worship….”Daughter, you are not alone, I am here with you.”
 
I know that no matter who is sitting next to me in worship or wherever I might be…..I am never alone…..He is there….. I cannot escape His encompassing love and peace because of the precious gift of HIS HOLY SPIRIT
 
I don’t think it is a coincidence that I heard the song “Never Alone” by Barlow Girl the night before. We cannot deny that at one time or another we have all had the feeling that the HOLY SPIRIT was absent!  The Holy Spirit is for all of us who accept Him, and He will never leave us!
 
Only one human being has ever had God turn away from Him, although momentarily. In order for the Perfect Sacrifice to “finish” the process to bring us True Life, Father God had to look the other way when His Son died for us on that rugged cross. Jesus Christ literally went through Hell so that we could be saved. He died the most horrific death so that we could live. No one has ever felt more alone than Jesus at that moment.
 
I felt inclined to share the aforementioned song in this week’s verse and message. I will prepare you that there is a story within a story here. I took the video off of God Tube/Tangle. You may want to listen to it a couple of times, so that you can allow the words of the song to sink in as well as be able to read the beautiful story shared in the video. I have also included the lyrics of the song below the link.
 
 
     NEVER ALONE
    BARLOW GIRL
 
I waited for you today
But you didn’t show
No no no
I needed you today
So where did you go?
You told me to call
Said You’d be there
And though I haven’t seen You
Are you still there?
 
I cried out with no reply
And I can’t feel You by my side
So I’ll hold tight to what I know
You’re here and I’m never alone
And though I cannot see You
And I can’t explain why
Such a deep, deep reassurance
You’ve placed in my life
We cannot separate
‘Cause You’re part of me
And though You’re invisible
I’ll trust the unseen.
 
We have all experienced the feeling that the Lord has disappeared.  He will not leave us. Even though it may seem that He is invisible at times, He is closer to us than any other person could be.  We must KNOW that we have been given the DEEP REASSURANCE that He is with us always. Indeed, He always SHOWS UP!
 
The question is…………..DO WE SHOW UP?  We were created to worship Him.  If we ever feel distant from the Almighty Lord, our only option is…..COME BACK HOME TO HIM……He will give us a renewed sense of His PRESENCE! 
 
THE WORLD MAY DISTRACT US FROM THE SAVIOR….
BUT NOTHING CAN DISTRACT THE SAVIOR FROM US! 
HE IS GRACE WAITING ON US TO RESPOND TO HIM!
WE CANNOT SEPARATE FROM JESUS….
HE IS A PART OF US, AND HE WILL ALWAYS BE A PART OF US! 
WHAT A BEAUTIFUL GIFT! 
 
SUSIE MC 
 

Leave a Reply

