Susie Mc

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Verse and Message (Week of Feb 8-14, 2009) February 10, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — susiemc @ 5:19 am
Archives of my weekly Verse and Message can be found at my blog link:
https://susiemc.wordpress.com
Computer
I have had the joy of re-connecting with numerous old friends and acquaintances via facebook on the Internet. One group of folks who I have delighted in communicating through this network would be my friends from Hewitt-Trussville High School. The following verse and message is dedicated to all of my friends who graduated from Hewitt-Trussville High School ……..especially my friends who took the Roby Challenge!
 
Job 19:25
But as for me, I know that my Redeemer lives, and that He will stand upon the earth at last!
  Fish 2 
Isaiah 44:22
I have swept away your offenses like a cloud, your sins like the morning mist. Return to me, for I have redeemed you.”
 
Following this past Christmas and New Year, I visited Micah and Jennifer Christy to catch up and enjoy Jen’s famous home-made Louisiana gumbo.  I noticed a note on the counter with the return address of a particular intimidating English teacher I had during my senior year at Hewitt-Trussville High School.  Her name — Wilma Roby. 
 Writing Books 
 
If there is one teacher I had throughout my school years that got my attention, it was the famous (some would consider infamous) Wilma Roby. Evidentally, Micah (who graduated a year prior to me) had the privilege of having Mrs. Roby as a part of his past experience in high school as well, and he had continued to correspond with her. As most of you can predict, I couldn’t resist sending Mrs. Roby a note after obtaining her address from the note on the counter at Micah and Jen’s. It was a treat to communicate with my favorite teacher of all time…and she responded!
(For those of you who are curious, Mrs. Roby retired 18 years ago…)
My Teacher Rocks
 
The “Wrath of Wilma” was the reputation that permeated the halls throughout the school’s history! Nonetheless, quite a few students desired to take her Advanced Academic English class because, there was a particular claim one would have if he survived her class successfully to graduation. 
 
If Mrs. Roby called on me in class and I failed to answer her questions correctly….. it was a bad day.  However, my spirit would perk up when she would face me with one eyebrow raised combined with her sinister smile to challenge me, “Are you ready to redeem yourself Miss Mullins?”  Knees knocking, words stammering, the favor of God was on me when I responded to her satisfaction.  What a relief — and of course — a feeling of intense pride would overwhelm me. Whew!
Hmm 2 
 
Her typical question and the word REDEEM resonated over and over in my head. Would you believe as I sit here typing on my laptop, I can still hear her asking me that question? 
 
Redemption is SWEET! 
 
Merriam-Webster on-line defines redeem as follows:
-To overcome something detrimental
-To release from blame or debt
-To change for the better
-To exchange for something of value 
-To make good
-To atone for
-To restore
-To fulfill
 
As Christians, we are only Christians because of the ONE TRUE REDEEMER – JESUS CHRIST!  He was not at fault.  He could answer any question correctly.  He was PERFECT………..but He took the fall for us, because we missed the mark …. every wrong answer, every disgusting sin that we ever committed or will ever commit was atoned for at the CROSS.  He made GOOD, because HE WAS NOTHING BUT GOOD. He canceled the debt…He restored….He FULFILLED!
 
HE is the AUTHOR OF SECOND CHANCES, and THIRD CHANCES, and SEVENTY-SEVEN CHANCES!  We have no right to accept any overwhelming pride for our works……..for without HIS GRACE we would be NOTHING!
 
HE TRULY TOOK ON THE ENTIRE WEIGHT OF THE WORLD.  He paid the price with His life so we could BE FREE! He loves us THAT MUCH!
 
I can still hear Him asking me…”Susan, would you come home? I can give you more than you can ever hope for or imagine, if you will just answer my invitation correctly. I will exchange your sin for glory….just accept me.”
 
I SURRENDER ALL…BECAUSE, MY REDEEMER LIVES!!
THE SWEETEST REDEMPTION WAS, IS, and EVER WILL BE….
OUR SAVIOR’S SACRIFICE!! 
Gold Cross
HE MADE GOOD ON EVERYTHING AT THE CROSS….
SHARE HIS LOVE THIS VALENTINES WEEK!
 Valentine heart cloud 
SUSIE MC
 

7 Responses to “Verse and Message (Week of Feb 8-14, 2009)”

  1. Kristi Says:

    Oh, how many times I had to redeem myself in Mrs. Roby’s class, but it was because of her incredible imprint on my life that I became an English teacher myself. Anytime my students get out of hand, I tell my husband I’m going to have to “go Roby” on them.

    I would love so much to get in touch with her to tell her what a difference she made to me. Do you still have her contact information? Please let me know if you do.

  2. Dani Says:

    I remember Roby. To this day, I cringe every time I see a comma splice in a student’s paper and whenever a student answers “I don’t know”, in response to a question. I keep wanting to say, “Yes, you do.” I presented Mrs. Roby with a red rose when I graduated and told her that the red of the rose represents everyone of my papers that bled to death. Is she still alive? If so where is she? If you have contact information, I would love to contact her. I think of her all the time and am an Assistant Professor.

  3. Steve Tillman Says:

    This is cool. I was the youngest of five brothers that Mrs. Roby taught. We weren’t exactly “model” students – with each descending year getting a little less “model”. This lady had one of the Tillman brothers four years in a row, She got a break for three years then I showed up in her class. As she was calling roll and saw my name, there was a silence then she asked “Are you bothers Tony, Joe , Paul and Frank?” This was followed by another moment of silence (I think she was praying this time). I laughed out loud when I was reminded of this.

    • susiemc Says:

      What a small world Steve! Ha! I love that story. I have received more feedback from this particular post than almost any other. Thank you for your friendship…I love your family so much! It’s wonderful being a part of such a beautiful community together at Highlands…and I GET TO SERVE WITH YOU GUYS! Thank you for your comment…thank you for your encouragement! Blessings!

  4. gene reader Says:

    I googled Ms Roby and came across this site. I too am a survivor of the “Robycaust”. My sentence was during the “77-78” years. Upon graduation I realized my sentence was over and I wouldn’t have had it any other way. She was the best teacher ever at Hewitt-Trusssville.

    • susiemc Says:

      I absolutely love your description of your experience in Mrs. Roby’s class. I am actually sending her a Christmas card today. I will mention your comment, and I am certain it will bring a smile to her face. Thank you for your feedback. God bless you and enjoy a beautiful Christmas and New Year!!


Leave a Reply

