Susie Mc

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Verse and Message (Week of January 11-17, 2009) January 14, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — susiemc @ 3:37 am

 

Psalm 40:6 (The Message)
Doing something for you, bringing something to you – that’s not what you’re after. Being religious, acting pious – that’s not what you’re asking for. You’ve opened my ears so I can listen.
 
Psalm 46:10a (NIV)
“Be still, and know that I am God.”
 
When you are with your spouse, your best friend, a family member, or someone else whom you have a close relationship…have you ever experienced a time when you are able to simply sit together quietly and enjoy a moment of comfortable stillness that doesn’t involve verbal conversation? It’s not awkward, in fact, it’s intimate and understood…peaceful and pleasant. You can be listening to music, sitting on your porch, walking on the beach, watching the sunrise or sunset, cooking, riding your bike, having a picnic, or basking in the sun. If you don’t allow yourself time for this, you are missing out on a rare and beautiful increment of a different kind of quality time.
 
This week started our annual 21 days of prayer and fasting at Church of the Highlands. We have early morning prayer gatherings from 6 am – 7 am Monday through Friday, and Saturday morning prayer time together at 9 am. 
 
So many times we only attempt to connect with God by presenting our requests and petitions of our needs and desires. Also, there are those that only connect with the Father during times of crisis or desperation. Sometimes God just wants us to rest in Him….soak in His presence, without talking to Him. I have come to realize how precious this can be. Time with God is simply that….but sometimes, our time doesn’t need to be goal driven….whether studying the Word, praying, etc….sometimes quality time with the Lord is a worship time of stillness. He delights in this opportunity with us.
 
My buddy Rob wrote a message about what God revealed to him on the first day of prayer this week.  The following is a portion of his writing that confirms why quality time can be a sweet “still” time to feast on the Spirit. A formal ritual is not His desire….passion in our deeds, purposes, and goals occur once we have obtained an intimate relationship with Him. He wants our hearts……not our sacrifices!
 
*Rob Lagerstrom’s words – blog link http://robservations.blogspot.com/ 
Spending time in extended prayer is like a long soak.  I don’t have to be soaping, scrubbing, and rinsing the whole time.  I can just sit back and soak it all in. Once I realized this I just let my mind float. I quit talking to God and just listened. God took that time to wrap me in His warm embrace.  The music that was playing in the room surrounded me and lifted me up.  I could feel all the other people praying around me as soapy bubbles that soothed me. My mind slowed down. My heart became soft. My pride went limp. My thick skin became supple.
 
Just reading what my friend calls his “Robservation” captures the core of prayer…..it’s difficult to connect with the Almighty until we have soaked in His presence.  How much easier it is to intercede for others and be able to hear from God when we relax and relish in the closeness we can obtain by seeking Him in this capacity. Pastor Steve said it best this morning, “Our focus on God will become ‘laser-like’ when we push away distractions, noise, and static.” He also emphasized that we need to begin changing our direction by seeking Him instead of the “IT” that we are yearning for in our lives. 
 
It’s not about a routine…
It’s not about our plans…
It’s not about our concerns…
It’s about HIM, not the “IT”….
 
S – SEEK HIM completely
O – OBSERVE and Listen
A – ASK for His perfect will, first and foremost
K – KNOCK anytime, His door is open
 
CULTIVATE YOUR PRAYER LIFE BY TAKING TIME TO SOAK IN HIS BEAUTIFUL PRESENCE!
SUSIE MC
 

Leave a Reply

