Susie Mc

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Verse and Message (Christmas 2008) December 19, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — susiemc @ 5:34 am

 

I am using an archived verse and message I wrote during the Christmas Season of 2005!
Of course, I believe the message was relevant then, is relevant now, and will be relevant tomorrow, just as our Savior was the same yesterday, is the same today, and will be the same tomorrow…..
 
Luke 2:10-14 (KJV)
And the angel said unto them, Fear not: for, behold, I bring you good tidings of great joy, which shall be to all people. For unto you is born this day in the city of David a Saviour, which is Christ the Lord. And this shall be a sign unto you; Ye shall find the babe wrapped in swaddling clothes, lying in a manger. And suddenly there was with the angel a multitude of the heavenly host praising God, and saying, Glory to God in the highest, and on earth peace, good will toward men.

 Manger  

In the mid-eighties, there were a series of movies that hit the theaters that included a group of kids known as the “Brat Pack.”  One of those “eighties classics” was the flick known as Sixteen CandlesMolly Ringwald represented a “nerd chick” who was about to embark on her sixteenth birthday (hence the name of the motion picture). The key “drama moment” of the movie occurred when the day of her sixteenth birthday arrived……and no one remembered her birthday.  Even her own parents forgot her special day, because they were so pre-occupied with the preparations of her sister’s wedding.
 
For those of you who know me well, you might agree with me…..that scenario would never happen to me. I don’t give my family members or close friends a chance to forget my birthday. 
 
In my family, birthdays are considered national holidays.  I take pride in them, and I am not worried about the number of candles on my cake (Well, I didn’t worry until the most previous birthday at 4-0,Ha!) My birthday falls on Mother’s Day every five years.  I think that is kind of cool, but at the same time, someone else might perceive that I am robbed of my special day!  I relish the opportunity to share my birthday celebration with the recognition of mothers everywhere! 
 
As I reflect on the birth of Jesus Christ, I ponder on what He might think about all the preoccupation of the “commercial catastrophe” that this holy day has become in our generation.  The obsession of buying empty treasures and being consumed with Santa or a mischievous elf has gotten way out of control. Even though our Jesus is the REASON for the SEASON and why there is even such a day recognized as CHRISTmas, so many do not acknowledge the significance of His birthday. The manger is ignored.  More often than not, He doesn’t receive the honor and glory that He deserves not only on His birthday, but on all the other days we are blessed to live. 
 
It’s a wonderful thing that His perfect GRACE doesn’t dismiss the “Brat Pack” that we have become.  The BIRTHDAY BOY should be given a special place with the first piece of cake!  Often, we barely offer Him our crumbs.  I bet if He blew out His candles, His wish would be for everyone to come to His party and celebrate. His desire is for everyone to share in the gifts of His Perfect Love,Forgiveness,Peace,and Grace.  His party favors are worth dying for……..but, He died for us instead! 
 
Sing HAPPY BIRTHDAY to Jesus!  If you listen, you just might hear the angels who sang the first true birthday song….GLORY TO THE NEWBORN KING! 
 
BE WITH JESUS THIS CHRISTMAS…NO NEED TO RSVP
IMMANUEL WILL NEVER LEAVE YOU!
HAPPY BIRTHDAY DEAR JESUS!
 Make A Wish 
THANK YOU FOR THE BEST PRESENT EVER–
Present
YOUR PRESENCE AND HOLY SACRIFICE!! 
Gold Cross
HAVE A BEAUTIFUL CHRISTMAS!
SUSIE MC
 

Leave a Reply

