Susie Mc

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Verse and Message (Week of Dec 7-13, 2008) December 9, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — susiemc @ 6:09 pm

 

 Wreath 
Matthew 2:11
On coming to the house, they saw the child with his mother Mary, and they bowed down and worshiped him. Then they opened their treasures and presented him with gifts of gold and of incense and of myrrh.
 Three Kings 
 
According to Merriam-Webster a GIFT is something voluntarily transferred by one person to another without compensation.
 
I am a GIVER.  That’s a nice quality, however, I have always had a difficult time receiving!  It began as a child.  I remember one time during the Christmas holidays when I was about seven or eight years old, a neighbor friend of mine delivered me a Christmas present.  I told her to wait at the door, and I would be right back. (Can you believe I was in such a panic that I didn’t even invite her in?) I ran to my bedroom, and grabbed a gift I had bought for someone else, and frantically wrapped it so I would have something to give my thoughtful neighbor. 
 
I sometimes feel guilty when I cannot return the generous offering of a friend.  Imagine if when receiving a gift from someone we grabbed our wallet or checkbook to pay the giver back. That would be an insult to the giver.  
 
Only recently have I tried to graciously accept gifts from others when I don’t have something for them. Most of the time, when someone offers something….they don’t want you to feel that you “owe them.” I have learned to consider the process of “paying it forward” when I have been blessed.  My task is to take the opportunity to give to another person. 
 
I think of the joy that the three wise men must have had in their hearts as they made their journey to see the precious baby Jesus. They each had a special gift to offer the prophesied King.
 
Gold stood for the riches of a king.  Jesus was the King of Kings. (Revelations 19:16)
 
Frankincense was incense used by the priests in the temple worship.  Jesus would be our high priest who would go before the Heavenly Father and intercede for us. (Hebrews 4:14)
 
Myrrh was a perfume used in burial services, pointing to Jesus’ death on the cross – a holy sacrifice for our sins. (Romans 5:8)
 
THE TRUE GIFT to the Magi was the final destination of that journey. Our Lord gave us the FREE GIFT OF HIS SON.  This was an offering of complete GRACE. We could NEVER pay Him back.  
 
Gifts are “blessings” arranged by God. Don’t feel guilty when receiving this Christmas……..the blessing is in the offering for the giver — a joyous receiver will bless the giver.  
 
Our gift to God is for us to be in relationship with Him and to be obedient to share with others the most remarkable GIFT anyone will ever comprehend — CHRIST THE KING….WHO rescued us from DEATH to give us TRUE LIFE!
 
GUILT GIVING IS NOT GIVING…..
PAY IT FORWARD…..
SHARE THE LIGHT OF THE WORLD….
JESUS CHRIST THE “FREE” GIFT OF TRUE LIFE!!
Present
SUSIE MC
 

Leave a Reply

