Susie Mc

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Verse and Message (Week of Oct 12-18, 2008) October 15, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — susiemc @ 7:18 pm
 

My buddy Justin Joffrion sent me the following message written by Rick Warren. If we would only consider taking these points seriously….our outlook and perspective in life would be AMAZING (even during these chaotic times). 
I have added a few comments in black below each point. 
 
“Changing Your Behavior”
by Rick Warren

Be careful how you THINK;
 your life is shaped by your thoughts. 
Proverbs 4:23 (GNT)
 
Whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable–if anything is excellent and praisworthy–THINK about such things.
Philippians 4:8
 
One of the great psychological discoveries of the past century is that our thoughts control our actions.  If we want to change the way we act, we must first change how we think. 
 
The Bible says our thoughts influence six areas of our lives:
 
*My interpretation influences my situation.  It’s not what happens to me that matters as much as how I choose to see it. The way I react will determine whether the circumstances makes me better or bitter.  I can view everything as an obstacle or an opportunity for growth – a stumbling block or a stepping stone. “Consider it pure joy, my brothers, whenever you face trials of many kinds, because you know that the testing of your faith develops perseverance.  Perseverance must finish its work so that you may be mature and complete, not lacking anything.” (James 1:2-4 NIV)
 
–I realize through many trials in my life that the JOY that the Lord provides within me can combat even the most discouraging situations I face. Sometimes I buy into the devil’s lies, and unfortunately view a picture of despair and hopelessness. But, I must take captive every thought placed within me by the Holy Spirit; I must reject the nonsense offered by the enemy. If God allows something difficult to take place in my life, then He has more than enough power to turn it around for His glory!

*My impressions influence my depressions. In other words, my mind affects my mood; my thinking determines my feelings. If I’m feeling depressed, it could be because I’m choosing to think depressing thoughts – about my work, family, or anything else. While you cannot always control a feeling, you can choose what you think about, which will control how you feel. “Hear me and answer me. My thoughts trouble me and I am distraught . . .” (Psalm 55:2 NIV)
 
–When I am feeling oppressed or depressed, it is my goal to find someone else experiencing a low point. Instead of allowing the “misery loves company” concept…I decide to encourage the socks off another person. In turn, that encouragement boomerangs back to me, quite often instantaneously. I believe that when I encourage someone going through a trial, my mind is far removed from my own minor issues. We must take ACTION instead of dwelling on a feeling! 
 
*My beliefs influence my behavior. We always act according to our beliefs, even when those ideas are false. For instance, as a child, if you believed a shadow in your bedroom at night was a monster, your body reacted in fear (adrenaline and jitters) even though it wasn’t true. That’s why it’s so important to make sure you are operating on true information! Your convictions about yourself, about life, and about God influence your conduct. “If you hold to my teaching, you are really my disciples.”
(John 8:31 NIV)
 
--There is a clear answer to problematic situations when we understand the weapons we have as Christians. We must take hold the Sword of the Spirit, the Word of God. We can use The Word to defend against our enemy and claim the beautiful TRUE promises of our Lord. No matter what happens, our behaviors will follow what we believe!
 
*My self-talk influences my self-esteem. You are constantly talking to yourself unconsciously. When you walk into a room full of strangers, what do you tend to think about yourself?  To develop more confidence you're going to have to stop running yourself down! "As he thinks in his heart, so is he." (Proverbs 23:7 NKJV)
 
--Simply put....SPEAK WORDS OF LIFE.  Don't allow anything negatives to be spoken. Claim the Name of Jesus and break anything spoken that does not line up with His perfect will. In addition, this goes for words spoken by others.  We can choose to receive or reject words that others speak over us. Words are POWERFUL! 
 
*My attitude influences my ability. Winners expect to win. Your perception controls your performance. Mohammed Ali only lost two fights in his career. Before both of them, he said something that he hadn't said before other fights:  "If I should lose this fight...."
"All things are possible to him who believes." (Mark 9:23 NKJV)
 
--Whenever I perform in an activity or an athletic event....I will picture myself succeeding.  I will first be prepared, and then, I will imagine victory.  Thinking victoriously...brings victory! A winner is someone who claims to be a winner! Jesus picks winners....so anyone who clings to the CROSS is a WINNER!
 
*My imagination influences my aspirations. In other words, your dreams determine your destiny.  To accomplish anything, you must first have a mission, a goal, a hope, a vision.  "Where there is no vision, the people will perish."(Proverbs 29:18 KJV)
 

–God places vision within us…..we must allow ourselves to dream no matter what obstacle may appear.  Cast those obstacles aside, and go for it! Ask God to make your purposes known to you.
“Change your thoughts and you change your world.” 
Norman Vincent Peale
 
ROSE COLORED GLASSES…WHY NOT?
JESUS GAVE ME VICTORY, I SIMPLY MUST CLAIM IT EVERY SINGLE DAY!
SUSIE MC

 

 

Leave a Reply

