Susie Mc

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Verse and Message (Week of Sept 21-27, 2008) September 24, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — susiemc @ 1:36 pm
John 20:20-22
After He said this, He showed them His hands and side.  The disciples were overjoyed when they saw the Lord.  Again, Jesus said, “Peace be with you! As the Father has sent me, I am sending you.”  And with that He breathed on them and said, “Receive the Holy Spirit.”
 Gold Cross 
I am leading prayer force again this semester, and I felt led to share an incredible nugget of this week’s chapter on the Holy Spirit that I received from one of our participants, Yvonne Avila. She was under the weather and was unable to attend last night’s gathering, but she emailed me about a “rhema word” that the Lord expressed to her as she studied the assigned material entitled “The Capacity for His Presence.” 
 
I must admit her words were a “rhema word” to me, and I hope you will be encouraged by it as well.  Before her thoughts, I wanted to touch on the basics of the Holy Spirit.  We all have a body and soul, but there is another part to us that no other creation has…..a spirit.  Jesus left us His Holy Spirit when Pentecost occurred following His ascension. Every person who has been saved by Jesus receives the Holy Spirit at the point of salvation.  However, the Holy Spirit may be difficult for us to grasp until we allow Him to take us deeper with the power He has placed within us. 
 
We are all being sanctified day by day by our Jehovah M’kaddesh (Who Sanctifies) and this sanctification process continues until we go home to Him. Jesus shed His blood to cancel the sin in our lives, and through His death and Resurrection God gave us access to experience as much of God as we desire! It’s our choice if we want to tap into that power.  We all have the capacity to embrace the power within us that was left as a deposit……but just as we sometimes take for granted people and/or gifts…..some don’t take hold of the full effect of the power within us.  We either don’t understand it, because we don’t choose to seek it…….or we buy into the lies of the enemy, who tells us we are in control.  Wake up…….God is in control…. 
(sorry couldn’t resist…facebook flair)
BUT……He’s a gentleman, and we must allow Him to lead us and direct us. When we fully submit control, His Holy Spirit is free to flow in power from us to others.
 
Here’s Yvonne’s take on it…..
Sunshine 
 
I really enjoyed the chapter this week on the Holy Spirit. A lot of the information I already heard and studied before and I was praying to God for fresh revelation and for Him to show me new things in the material, and new things to deepen my relationship with the Holy Spirit.  One of the things that really struck me was the part of the chapter where it said that Peter spent three years with Jesus, and could not even witness to a small girl after all that time with Jesus!  But after a moment of being filled with the spirit, he was empowered to speak and witness to the thousands!!  So many times I wish that I could have been around when Jesus was here, and how awesome to have been one of his disciples.  But then I read that about Peter and realized that what we have in the Holy Spirit is the fulfillment of what Jesus was doing, and through the Holy Spirit we have access to the power that Jesus had.  Jesus couldn’t complete in Peter or the disciples what He wanted until he left them and sent the Spirit.  And we have that Spirit!!  How awesome is that?  We aren’t short-changed, we are blessed to have it all now.  They didn’t have it all until Jesus died and sent the Holy Spirit, but now we have access to it all.  It’s amazing how we can have a relationship with God that seems good, but unless that relationship involves the Holy Spirit’s power, it is lacking.  Jesus was one man, and the Holy Spirit is with each one of us individually, and technically they are one and the same.  But Jesus wanted us to have the Holy Spirit so that through the Holy Spirit we could each do more than if Jesus himself was here on earth.  That is why I believe he said you will do greater things than what Jesus did…we will take his influence and power that was in that one place in the world at that time, and take it with us through the Holy Spirit into the whole entire earth!!  Amazing! In addition, this morning I was reading in Ephesians 1 and 2, and it was talking about the fact the Holy Spirit is our seal that we belong to Him and His deposit guarantees that He will do what He promised.  And I was so encouraged just by that very fact…that because I am praying with the Spirit, I know that I bear the mark of a child of God!  I am sealed!  What hope that brings, what security, what joy, what a benefit of the Holy Spirit!!!  I don’t know if that makes sense, but it just kind of refreshed and encouraged me that even when I couldn’t exactly see in the list from the chapter where and how the Holy Spirit is working in me, just to know that I have the Holy Spirit as proof that I am sealed as God’s child encourages me to walk in His power and dig in even deeper!

 
WOW..thanks Yvonne for that inspiration!
 
My closing thoughts….
When we don’t know what to pray, the Spirit intercedes for us. The Holy Spirit has a host of benefits, but namely His Spirit will allow us to tap into His power, help us in our weakness, strengthen our inner man, allow us freedom in worship, and assist us in spiritual warfare. Why would we ever turn our back on that bonus?  However, it doesn’t just happen…we must desire and seek His Spirit, and we must be vulnerable and open to what He wants to do in and through us.
 
WELCOME THE CAPACITY FOR HIS HOLY SPIRIT…
Prayer 
YOU WILL BE FILLED…
SUSIE MC
 

Leave a Reply

