Susie Mc

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Verse and Message (Week of August 24-30, 2008) August 27, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — susiemc @ 5:55 pm

Football 3

 

 

Since it is the beginning of the school year and fall is in the air with the onset of college football enthusiasm, I felt it was fitting to share the below archived message.  Salvation is the best gift we could ever receive! Isn’t it amazing that all we have to do is to accept this gift?  We know that there is no way we could earn our way to salvation.  It’s not what we do….it’s what HE DID!
 
 
Focus Verses at the End of the Message Below: Fish 2
 
I remember the summer following my graduation from high school, one of my top priorities was getting ready for my Auburn University experience that was to begin the fall of 1986.  I remember clearly how urgent it seemed to acquire recommendation forms to have sent to all of the sororities on Auburn’s campus in preparation for the fall rush that I was planning to participate. At the time, it was deemed absolutely necessary to pledge one of the 15 sororities on the campus.  It is known as the GREEK system, and it was definitely GREEK to me. 
 
I can have a conversation with a brick wall, so I wasn’t apprehensive about the social tea-parties to take place.  The first day of rush I attended 10 parties.  I have never been so excited or exhausted in my entire life.  By the time the last party took place my physical, emotional, and mental capacities were spent.  It’s all about impressing a bunch of girls who only know who you are by your resume and recommendation form. 
 
Their decision to offer a bid to you is based on certain criteria.
Below are a few I recall: 
 
*The activities, academics, and honors you held in high school.
*Your reputation in high school.
*Who you know in the sorority or who you are related to in the sorority.
*Your personality and how you fit with the sorority.
*Some sororities even do credit checks to see how much money your family has.
*Your appearance, dress, etc.
 Dolled Up 
 
Although my experience as an Alpha Omicron Pi   Sister was a pleasant one, I was saddened that some precious girls were cut due to lack of some of the above requirements.  So many fabulous girls were overlooked.  
 
Isn’t it GREAT that we don’t have to have a recommendation form to be accepted in the Club of Jesus Christ?  What a relief!  I can assure you if God were to review my resume from my past, and I had to earn my way to His throne, I would have been cut!  My history of sin, my pocketbook, my appearance, who I know, and where I have been have nothing to do with my membership in the Kingdom! 
 
It hurts to be left out–and there are so many hurting!  It is our responsibility to reach out and rush the lost!  If we fail in our mission to be “fishers of men” we will have to answer to the President of the Fraternity in Heaven.  We must welcome those in our club with open arms and not let any get away!  The only initiation required is repentance and acceptance of Jesus Christ as our Lord and Savior!  How hard is that?  To some it’s very difficult to let go and surrender all we have to Him! 
 
A couple years ago my pastor handed out little note cards on how to pray for the LOST.  I was reminded of these cards recently when I read our pastor’s blog.
 
 
I would like to share those points now, in an effort to assist in fishing for men!
 
                           FIVE WAYS TO PRAY FOR THE LOST Prayer 
                 (Material Obtained from Church of the Highlands)
 
1.  PRAY THAT THE FATHER WOULD DRAW THEM TO JESUS
 
     John 6:44
     For people can’t come to me unless the Father who sent me draws
     them to me, and at the last day I will raise them from the dead.
 
2.  BIND THE SPIRIT THAT BLINDS THEIR MINDS
 
      2 Corinthians 4:4
      Satan, the god of this evil world, has blinded the minds of those
      who don’t believe, so they are unable to see the glorious light
      of the Good News that is shining upon them.  They don’t understand
      the message we preach about the glory of Christ, who is the exact
      likeness of God.
 
3.  LOOSE THE SPIRIT OF ADOPTION (SONSHIP)
 
      Romans 8:15
      So you should not be like cowering, fearful slaves.  You should
      behave instead like God’s very own children, adopted into his
      family — calling him “Father, dear Father.”
 
4.   PRAY THAT BELIEVERS WILL CROSS THEIR PATHS AND ENTER
      INTO POSITIVE RELATIONSHIP WITH THEM
 
       Matthew 9:38
       So pray to the Lord who is in charge of the harvest; ask him
       to send out more workers for his fields.
 
5.    LOOSE THE SPIRIT OF WISDOM AND REVELATION ON THEM
       SO THEY MAY KNOW GOD BETTER
 
       Ephesians 1:17
       Ask God, the glorious Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, to
       give you spiritual wisdom and understanding, so that
       you might grow in your knowledge of God.
 
I am 100% certain that we all know people we can pray for according to this guide! It works! Now, GO FISHING! 
 
IT’S FALL RUSH–
SEEK AND PRAY FOR MEMBERS TO JOIN THE CLUB OF CHRIST!
 Cheerleader 1 
SUSIE MC
 

Leave a Reply

