Susie Mc

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Verse and Message (Week of August 10-16, 2008) August 14, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — susiemc @ 3:10 pm

Rainbow

Ephesians 6:10-11
Finally, be strong in the Lord and His mighty power.  Put on the full armor of God so that you can take your stand against the devil’s schemes.
 
The enemy of our soul will do anything to keep our faith in the Lord from growing.  As we mature in Christ, the protective wall of faith guarding our hearts becomes less susceptible to attacks.  Maintaining the habit of wearing the Armor of God each day offers us full security. I pray the Armor of God  each day to insure that I am alert and properly guarded from the enemy’s flaming arrows. I have included from my Women of Faith Study Bible a detailed description of each piece of armor and how the armor offers complete protection. Below the description, I have included my Armor of God Prayer that I use daily in preparing for battle. I received the prayer at my first small group at Highlands.  
 
From Women of Faith Study Bible:
 

 Smiley Knight
God has provided both offensive and defensive weapons for our use. We need the “full armor” and not just a piece of it.

 
The Belt of Truth
This is our defense against the lies of the enemy.  God’s Word is a filter to differentiate between truth and lies. (Ephesians 1:13)
 
The Breastplate of Righteousness
This is our protection against the enemy’s accusations. Jesus took our sin on Himself, and we are now righteous in God’s eyes. (2 Corinthians 5:21)
 
The Shoes of the Gospel of Peace
This is our defense against retreat.  Our peace comes in knowing that we have all we need in Christ. (1 John 4:4)
 
The Shield of Faith
This is our defense against doubt and guilt. Satan uses doubt and guilt to hinder our spiritual growth. (1 Corinthians 16:13)
 
The Helmet of Salvation
This is our defense against confusion and wrong thinking which can rob us of our assurance of salvation. (Romans 12:2; 2 Corinthians 10:5)
 
The Sword of the Spirit

Bible 1

This is the rhema word of God. When God says it, and we speak it out, the Spirit cuts through the darkness like a sword. (Hebrews 4:12)
 
Ephesians 6:10-18
 Prayer  
Heavenly Father, I desire to be obedient by being strong in the Lord and the power of your might.  I recognize that it is essential to put on the armor that you have provided, and I do so now with gratitude, praise, and by faith as effective spiritual protection against the spiritual forces of darkness.
 
I confidently take the BELT OF TRUTH — I take Jesus who is the TRUTH as my strength and protection and ask wisdom and discernment to believe, live, speak, and know only the truth.
 
Thank you for the BREASTPLATE OF RIGHTEOUSNESS. By faith I appropriate the righteousness of Jesus Christ and ask you, Jesus, to walk in Your holiness in my life today.
 
Thank you, Lord, for the SHOES OF PEACE.  I desire that my feet should stand on the solid rock of peace and that as I walk in obedience to you, the God of peace promises to walk with me.
 
Eagerly, Lord, I lift up the SHIELD OF FAITH. By faith, I trust in you to be a complete and perfect shield.
 
I recognize that my mind is a target of Satan’s deceiving ways, and I take the HELMET OF SALVATION, recognizing that the Lord Jesus Christ is my salvation.  I shield my head with Him and invite His mind to be in me.
 
With joy I take hold of the SWORD OF THE SPIRIT, which is the Word of God, affirming that it is the infallible Word of God.  Enable me to use Your Word not only to defend me from Satan but to claim it’s promises.
 
Thank You, dear Lord for prayer. Help me to keep this armor well oiled with prayer. I desire to pray at all times with depth and intensity as the Holy Spirit leads me.  Grant me a burden for others in God’s family and enable me to see their needs and assist them through prayer as the enemy attacks them.
 
All these things I ask in the mighty name of
Jesus Christ my Lord,
AMEN
 
I promise that if you are persistent in speaking this prayer over your life, confidence and security will be yours. Just like it doesn’t make sense to wear your seatbelt in your vehicle part of the time, it doesn’t make sense to put on the armor periodically. So be sure to utilize each piece of armor consistently.
 
Lastly, I wanted to remind all of you that Church of the Highlands is in the midst of it’s bi-annual “21 Days of Prayer” through August 24. If you need prayer, or if you just want to dive into the presence of God and pray for others, please join us Monday-Friday from 6 am-7am and Saturday from 9 am-10 am at the Switch Room upstairs at Church of the Highlands Grants Mill location……it’s AMAZING!
 
“Men may spurn our appeals, reject our message, oppose our arguments, despise our persons; but they are helpless against our prayers.”
J. Sidlow Baxter from Discipleship Journal
www.discipleshipjournal.com
 

JEHOVAH NISSI IS OUR BANNER OF VICTORY OVER THE DEVIL!
Gold Cross 
WE CAN REST SECURE IN HIS ARMOR AND IN HIS ARMS!
SUSIE MC
 

Leave a Reply

