Susie Mc

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Verse and Message (Week of June 1-7, 2008) June 6, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — susiemc @ 3:02 am

Exodus 4:10

Moses said to the Lord, “O Lord, I have never been eloquent, neither in the past nor since you have spoken to your servant.  I am slow of speech and tongue.”

 Nervous 

2 Timothy 1:7

For God did not give us a spirit of timidity, but a spirit of power, of love, and of self-discipline.

 

Have you ever been intimidated to step out of your comfort zone for Christ?  I am not timid about meeting people, communicating the Word of God, inviting others to my worship home, or even writing these messages. However, I must confess….before I participated in a study at Church of the Highlands known as “prayer force training” I was terrified to pray over others in a group or one on one. 

 

I know you might think it is crazy, somewhat hard to believe, since you all know my fearless communicative style with others.  It is true…..in the past when someone has asked me to lead a prayer out loud, I felt as though I had forgotten how to speak. My assertive outgoing nature suddenly would be shocked with the thought…”oh the cat’s got my tongue.” When I began praying over the greeter team last year, I would ask others to lead us in prayer, or if I somehow planned to muster the courage to go for it, I would still stress over what I would say at least and hour or two before that time had arrived.

 

One thing I have learned in the past few months is that God is not going to give us an assignment that He won’t enable us to accomplish.  When we enter into salvation and receive the Holy Spirit, He provides us His multiple benefits.  In fact, we are equipped with EVERYTHING of the HOLY SPIRIT.  In addition, when we allow Him to consume us, He will provide supernatural qualities that would be impossible to attain on our own.

 

For the first time in my life, I am leading a small group at Church of the Highlands.  If you had told me a couple years ago that I would be a small group leader not to mention entertaining the idea of a small group focused on intercessory prayer….I would have said…”Nope, that’s not my gift.” 

 

My purpose in this message today is to encourage all of you who are on the ledge and desire His Power…..but refuse to be obedient to His call because you are scared….or you don’t have time…..or you don’t have the talent or anointing….whatever!  I am here to tell you that YOU ALL HAVE THE POWER WITHIN YOU.  But, our Lord is a gentlemen…He’s not going to force anyone to do anything…He operates in our spirit with promptings and convictions. 

 

God is so cool, because He takes over.  No matter what I utter, if my heart is open to Him and if I relax and let Him use me as His vessel…..His POWER and PURPOSES will be made known. 

 

I may be worried about a person not approving of what I am praying….or I may be concerned that I sound foolish or I may fear that I appear that I don’t know what I am doing….but guess what?  That’s the Enemy.  The Devil knows the POWER we possess because we are children of the KING.  Therefore, he uses the same bag of tricks to attempt to convince us that it’s nonsense.  If GOD says you can do it…..YOU CAN DO IT.  You are ready for leadership.  You are ready to pray over others.  You are ready to boldly step out and proclaim your faith.  You are good enough…..BECAUSE OF JESUS CHRIST, the ULTIMATE INTERCESSOR.

 

Again, the Enemy wants us to back down and make us feel incompetent.  If we depend on our own ability and strength…..we can expect to feel insecure.  Satan wants to distract us into taking our eyes off the One Who is working within us.  Don’t believe the lies.  Satan wants to steal the opportunities that we are given to build the Kingdom.  Speaking in Jesus Name and claiming the Promises of Scripture will demonstrate that the Enemy is wasting his time……”Don’t give him and inch or he will become your ruler!” (I have heard that quote but not sure who coined it).

 

A sister in Christ, Wendy Parsons, emailed me an excellent devotion on becoming free of fear written by one of her pastor friends in Missouri.  He wrote a profound statement in the message: “God moves in response to faith.  Satan moves in response to fear.  Faith is developed by meditating on God’s Word.  Fear is developed by meditating on Satan’s lies.”

 

Our Mighty God is passionate about manifesting His Power!  The Presence of the Holy Spirit in our midst should give us amazing confidence.  We are called to be fishers of men.  We are called to love people.  God changes hearts.  God is the performer.  We are His conduit to the world. 

 

Also, remember that when you deny the chance to be an instrument for the Lord….you are not cheating God…..you are cheating yourself!  He created each one of us in His beautiful image, and He equips us to be “more than conquerors.”  He is able to do far more than we could ever hope for or imagine. 

 

Another sister in Christ, Jennifer LeMaster, sent me the following quote this week:  “When God leads you to the edge of the cliff, trust Him fully and let go- only one of two things will happen; either He’ll catch you when you fall, or He’ll teach you how to fly.”

 

 

SO JUMP!! HE’S YOUR PARACHUTE!

 Skydiver 1 

SUSIE MC

 

Leave a Reply

