Susie Mc

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Verse and Message (Week of April 27-May 3, 2008) May 2, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — susiemc @ 5:34 am
Flower
Psalm 22:5b
…..in you they trusted and were not disappointed.
 Gold Cross 
Galatians 1:10
Am I now trying to win the approval of men, or of God? Or am I trying to please men? If I were still trying to please men, I would not be a servant of Christ.
 
Whenever a situation or a person’s actions or reactions disappoint me……..
 Indifference 
I have to remind myself……..”Why would I ever expect an imperfect person in an imperfect world and an imperfect circumstance to be “PERFECT?”  Precisely…..no matter how amazing a circumstance appears, no matter how “perfect” someone appears, no one is perfect (Christ is the ONLY exception)
 
I will never forget something Pastor Chris Hodges shared a few years ago with regard to relationships and our perception and/or expectations of people.  “We judge ourselves based on our intentions—but we judge others based on their actions.” No two people are alike. Therefore, why do we judge how someone should respond or react to any given situation?  Just because I handle a circumstance or situation a certain way, doesn’t mean others will operate in the same way.
 
No matter how hard we try to please someone, no matter how hard we try to control a person’s responses, and no matter how hard we attempt to exceed someone’s expectations (with or without fervent prayer taking place) we cannot control the outcome. In addition, because we are human, we cannot “know it all” about anyone we encounter.  Only God knows each one of us inside/out.
 Clown Jumping 
Numerous attempts of people pleasing (a form of manipulating my life and others  by gripping the wheel with furious intensity) have left me discouraged and depleted. Since He knows my destiny in relationships and everything for that matter, why would I use my energy to strive on my own measly power?  His sacrifice took place so that I would no longer have to be in control of my complicated universe.  Instead of restraining me, an attitude of submission and sacrifice to Him frees me to live in complete joy and confidence, no matter what anyone else does. 
 
When we as imperfect beings begin to realize our dependence on the only PERFECT BEING available, THAT IS WHEN WE FINALLY GET IT!  Nothing else matters!  Then…we arrive at a place of true significance. We finally grasp that His PRESENCE is what gives us strength in all of our relationships.  In addition, people will see His light and love in and through us when we are walking in the SPIRIT. 
 
God will never let us down.  If we stay focused on Him, we will not be overcome with disappointment …because….we are gazing on the PERFECT ONE who has the PERFECT PLAN and WILL for our lives. That is the best source of POWER we could ever fathom! 
 
So, next time something occurs that you are not expecting……relax, God is in control…..nothing takes Him by surprise. We are commanded to love people…but ONLY GOD can change hearts and fix people.  Therefore, when we place our faith in the Lord instead of mere imperfect humans….even disappointments will turn into blessings….because….. He makes everything new!    
 
We do not have to strive for happiness, or value, or purpose in life and relationships when we seek the SOURCE of TRUE SIGNIFICANCE! And, indeed, He is the BEST FRIEND that mankind has ever had and will ever have! Instead of jumping through hoops to get the approval of a person, guess WHO is jumping through hoops to get our attention?  How GREAT is our God!!!
 
“ON CHRIST THE SOLID ROCK I STAND, ALL OTHER GROUND IS SINKING SAND.”
 Fish 2
SUSIE MC
 

Leave a Reply

