Susie Mc

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Verse and Message (Week of March 30-April 5, 2008) April 2, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — susiemc @ 11:59 am
Psalm 37:8-9 (The Message)
Bridle your anger, trash your wrath, cool your pipes-it only makes things worse.  Before long the crooks will be bankrupt; God-investors will soon own the store.
 Road Rage VS  Big Hug 
1 Peter 4:8 (NIV)
Above all, love each other deeply, because love covers over a multitude of sins.
 I Love You Mug 
With my lengthy email distribution list, I receive quite a number of emails.  Many times I receive duplicate emails, but I received one I had never seen before, and I couldn’t resist sharing it in conjunction with my verse and message this week.  A sister in Christ, Mallory Slaughter, sent me the message I am referencing. I thought it was a great example of how we should respond when we are faced with some of the frustrations that life throws us. See what you think…how would you respond?
THE LAW OF THE GARBAGE TRUCK
One day I hopped in a taxi, and we took off for the airport.  We were driving in the right lane when suddenly a black car jumped out of a parking space right in front of us.  My taxi driver slammed on his breaks, skidded, and missed the other car by just inches! The driver of the other car whipped his head around and started yelling at us.  My taxi driver just smiled and waved at the guy.  And, I mean, he was really friendly.
 Cab Driver 
So, I asked, “Why did you just do that? This guy almost ruined your car and sent us to the hospital!” This is when my taxi driver taught me what I now call, “The Law of the Garbage Truck.”
 Trashcan 
He explained that many people are like garbage trucks.  They run around full of garbage, full of frustration, full of anger, and full of disappointment.  As their garbage piles up, they need a place to dump it, and sometimes they’ll dump it on you.  Don’t take it personally.  Just smile, wave, wish them well, and move on.  Don’t take their garbage and spread it to other people at work, at home, or on the streets.
The bottom line is that successful people do not let garbage trucks take over their day.  Life’s too short to wake up in the morning with regrets, so…..”Love the people who treat you right. Pray (and love) the ones who don’t.”
There are some out there who would unload on the person who pulled out in front of that taxi.  There are some who would just say a few words under their breath, and aim a blank stare.  How many of us would smile and wave?  
 Waving 
I receive Charles Stanley’s IN TOUCH monthly publication.  I just happened upon an article called “Taming the Beast Within” in this months issue.  I wanted to share what Dr. Gary Chapman defines as “GOOD” VERSUS “BAD” ANGER. 
GOOD ANGER
Definition:  Anger toward any kind of genuine wrongdoing, mistreatment, injustice, or breaking of laws.
Sparked by: Violation of laws or moral code.
How to identify:  If you can answer yes to these questions: Was a wrong committed? And do I have all the facts?
What to do:  Either confront the person or decide to overlook the offense.
BAD ANGER
Definition:   Anger toward a perceived wrongdoing where no wrong occurred.
Sparked by:  Stress, fatigue, unrealistic expectations, or people who hurt us.
How to recognize:  Feelings of frustration or disappointment feed the anger.
What to doHalt the anger, and gather information to help you process your emotion.
As I was told in my divorce recovery program….there is nothing wrong with “feelings.”  Anger is an emotion.  It’s how we carry out our anger that determines when or if sin erupts.  Jesus got angry, but He of course did not sin. We must recognize when our tempers flare, and H.A.L.T. 
We should halt (to stop and pray) when we are
HUNGRY (H) – ANGRY (A) – LONELY (L) or TIRED (T) !!!
According to Chapman, when we find that we have a problem with anger we must recognize that we have the problem, restrain from our normal reaction, and identify the focus of our anger. It’s crucial that we don’t hold the anger inside, but face it in a positive way.  In confrontations, he recommends that we first LISTEN, then AFFIRM what you heard (active listening), and finally SHARE YOUR SIDE.
Of course the best rule of thumb is praying for self-control with the Author of self-control and sweetness, and focus on forgiveness.  And forgiveness goes for ourselves as well as others.
Well, I hope some of these tips have helped.  No matter what our personality traits reflect, anger is something we all experience…..speak words of LIFE not DEATH over others and yourself! LET IT GO!
AVOID THE DANGER OF UNHEALTHY ANGER!
FORGIVE, FORGET, AND FLEE THE STRONGHOLD OF ANGER!
 Gold Cross 
CLEAN UP THE GARBAGE WITH A BEAUTIFUL ATTITUDE IN CHRIST!
SUSIE MC
 

One Response to “Verse and Message (Week of March 30-April 5, 2008)”

  1. Chris Says:

    Thanks so much for such a cool post. I looked around to see if I could find out who wrote the garbage truck story, and I found out that it is someone named David J. Pollay. He has written a bunch of great stuff, and there is even a website for this story: http://www.bewareofgarbagetrucks.com. You should check it out!


Leave a Reply

