Susie Mc

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Verse and Message (Friday, November 30, 2007) November 30, 2007

Filed under: Uncategorized — susiemc @ 1:58 pm

 Pen 2 

I received a remarkable writing from a dear sister in Christ a couple weeks ago.  Donna Bonds wrote a message on what God revealed to her one day while she was indulging in a pomegranate.  Some of you who also know Donna may have already received this from Donna, but I couldn’t help but share it with my entire distribution list. 

During this beautiful season of our Savior’s birth, it’s important to recognize that our spiritual journey is blessed from our re-birth to growth and maturity as we are being sanctified day by day. 

In the next few weeks I will be sharing a variety of thoughts, quotes, and scripture as we delight in the Babe that brought us Christmas.  I typically share one verse and message per week, but you may find a few mini messages in your email box throughout December as I have been inspired to share.

I have included an introductory verse to Donna’s message below:

Ephesians 3:14-19

For this reason I kneel before the Father, from whom his whole family in heaven and on earth derives its name. I pray that out of his glorious riches he may strengthen you with power through his Spirit in your inner being, so that Christ may dwell in your hearts through faith. And I pray that you, being rooted and established in love, may have power, together with all the saints, to grasp how wide and long and high and deep is the love of Christ, and to know this love that surpasses knowledge—that you may be filled to the measure of all the fullness of God.

POMEGRANATE REVELATION

Donna Bonds

11/13/07

 Gold Cross 

During my personal worship today I decided to take time out to eat a pomegranate recently bought because they’re only available during this season of the year. God’s voice is in all of His creation and there’s a message, we too have seasons of spiritual growth on our journey with Christ.

 

            As I looked at the pomegranate I saw the crown on top of the fruit colored red, and realized that, available to us, is a crown of righteousness, at the end of our earthly journey, only through Christ’s blood, as the fruit’s red color symbolized.

 

            As I struggled to break the pomegranate open because of its thick outer covering I realized how difficult we make it for God to break through our flesh to our hearts. After breaking through the outer shell, as I looked inside the fruit I realized that the outer shell was symbolic of our salvation and God entering our hearts. After the break through I saw all these compartments covered with a skin like covering and beneath the skin I could see beautiful seeds covered with red juice, the desired part.

 

            Again, the struggle of getting past the skin, which I experienced, if eaten, was very bitter to the taste, but once past it the fruit juice was sweet. I then realized that the skin was symbolic of our flesh and the many layers of our flesh that we must deal with in order for the fruit of our Savior to be seen, devoured and enjoyed.

 

            As I continued to partake of the pomegranate – it took time, and I was reminded that during our journey on earth it’s a continuing process of dealing with our flesh and we must daily depend on the Seed to produce the desired fruit of our Savior. Then, while tasting the sweetness of the fruit, I knew how wonderful and marvelous we appear to the lost as we allow God to remove the flesh so that only He is revealed. And what a revelation, hundreds of sweet tasting seeds produced from the Seed, our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. Who can resist His great love?

 

            Finally, as I wiped my mouth and looked at the red stains on my napkin, I acknowledged then – it’s only through the blood that we become like Him and the Seed is revealed.

Thank you Donna for those wise words of wisdom. 

I hope you all have a wonderful start to a PERFECT CHRISTMAS with the PERFECT CHRIST!  GOD BLESS YOU ALL!

 Holly 

SUSIE MC

 

Leave a Reply

