Susie Mc

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Verse and Message for Thanksgiving 2007 November 21, 2007

Filed under: Uncategorized — susiemc @ 7:01 pm

Psalm 103: 2-5

Praise the Lord, I tell myself, and never forget the good things He does for me.  He forgives all my sins and heals all my diseases.  He ransoms me from death and surrounds me with love and tender mercies.  He fills my life with good things.  My youth is renewed like the eagle’s!

  Gold Cross 

I love my church.  Of course, you all know that by now.  I love the worship and praise time with singing and instruments.  We sing praise music by viewing a screen and joining an exuberant praise team.  It is powerful, and I don’t have to worry about turning to the right page in a hymnal. 

However, I must admit, I am particularly fond of the classic hymns I learned growing up in a traditional Southern Baptist church.  I cannot dismiss how the hymns from days gone by have burned in my memory.  One hymn in particular “Count Your Blessings” touches my heart, especially during this week of Thanksgiving.

Do you recall the following words to that hymn?

When you are discouraged, thinking all is lost,

Count your many blessings, name them one by one,

And it will surprise you what the Lord hath done.

Count them one by one…….  It’s a good thing that numbers go into infinity, because I have so many blessings to count.  Obviously, I am thankful for my Lord, my family, and my friends.  Those are the gimmies (for me) when going around the dinner table expressing my thanks! 

Although I tend to take for granted the Grace of Jesus, the love of my family, and the abundance of special friends, it’s also easy to take the “little things” for granted as well.  Simple things mean a lot.  You cannot put a pricetag on them.  They are there for the taking…..if you take them. 

I wanted to share a few of the “simple pleasures” that come to mind.  To the world outside the U.S. and to our men and women in the armed forces, some of these things are genuine luxuries.  We sometimes do not realize how GOOD we have it……

*an open parking spot close to the destination entrance

*a hot shower

*a warm meal

*fresh water to drink

*clean clothes

*a warm bed

*a clean house

*good health

*an unexpected phone call, email,or letter in the mailbox just to say “hi” On The Phone 

*being in the front when a new lane opens in the grocery store

*an unexpected discount on an item at the register

*a hot mocha when it’s 28 degrees outside

*a sunrise, a sunset, a full moon with a crystal clear sky of stars

 Sunshine 

*freedom to worship my Lord without fear of death

*a smile from a child, a smile from a stranger, a smile from someone you don’t expect to see smiling

*infants, puppies, kittens

 Crib 

*my son finishing his homework and understanding it

*being able to use a debit card at McDonald’s

*the chills I experience after hearing the National Anthem

*birthdays

*laughing until your stomach hurts

*hot french fries

 French Fries 2 

*the look on someones face after you have given them a gift you know they will love

*getting in the car with a gas tank that is full

*when someone prays with you

*an umbrella offered during a downpour

*green traffic lights

*Christmas Eve candlelight services

*MERCY

*GRACE

*FORGIVENESS

 Fish 2 

I guess, most importantly, forgiveness ranks high in my book.  “What makes a Christian a Christian is not perfection but forgiveness.”

(Max Lucado)  Where would I be without His continued forgiveness? Being forgiven is a beautiful thing.  It’s hard to forgive sometimes…..but when a debt is canceled…..OH MY!  What a feeling! 

I hope I left you today pondering not only what this week is about…..

but what every single day should be about. 

We have many blessings to count!

Celebrate Thanksgiving 24/7!

LITTLE THINGS MEAN A LOT! 

    Cornucopia 

IT’S FORGIVENESS FROM THE FATHER–

THAT I AM FOREVER GRATEFUL!!

SUSIE MC

 

Leave a Reply

