Susie Mc

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Verse and Message (11/15/07) –special audio clip included November 15, 2007

Filed under: Uncategorized — susiemc @ 1:53 pm

Before I share my verse and message this week, I couldn’t help but include an amazing revelation from a 12 year old boy in Houston that he shared with a radio station….you don’t want to miss this.  Following this extra bonus, you will find my verse and message for the week! A remarkable phone call from a 12 year old boy to Houston radio station KSBJ FM 89.3.  So profound, the station has it posted on their website.  Click below to listen to it…it’s short, but get your Kleenex!http://www.ksbj.org/eblogs/morningShow/wp-content/uploads/2007/10/logan-calf-story.mp3

Psalm 73:26

My flesh and my heart may fail, but God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever.

Wood Cross

Romans 7:18-19 (Amplified Bible)

For I know that nothing good dwells within me, that is, in my flesh. I can will what is right, but I cannot perform it. [I have the intention and urge to do what is right, but no power to carry it out.] For I fail to practice the good deeds I desire to do, but the evil deeds that I do not desire to do are what I am [ever] doing.

I remember when I was in the 4th grade at Franklin Academy, my teacher assigned the class an interesting task.  We were challenged to discover a typo or error in any form of media print (newspaper, magazine, etc). We were asked to cut out the article and bring it to the classroom to share. (This old fashioned style of research didn’t include the Internet luxury).  We would obtain extra credit points if we accomplished this mission.  It was so much fun to find a mistake and take it into class!  Imagine rejoicing over a mistake! 

Mistake is defined in The American Heritage Dictionary as follows:

1.  An error or fault.  2.  A misconception or misunderstanding.

Just because we fail at times does not indicate that we are failures. I doubt very seriously that the writer of a column in a newspaper would be fired for a single word spelled incorrectly.  However, repeating mistakes consistently is what we have to watch out for. No one is perfect…….mistakes are inevitable. 

Pastor Layne Schranz, director of student ministries of Church of the Highlands, delivered a message on our current series entitled “Real Life” this past Sunday that covered the subject of past mistakes and sin. We all mess up, but he shared that we can BURY it, we can BEAT ourselves up, we can BLAME others, or WE CAN BUILD ON IT.

I know that when I have sinned or make a mistake, I tend to beat myself up.  I analyze every facet of the issue and live in torment.  That mentality comes from our enemy.  Our Father wants us to view a past mistake as “a rudder to guide us– not an anchor to pull us back.” You know…LIVE AND LEARN.  Learning may be the difficult part, but in learning we recognize that our mistakes have value!

John C. Maxwell coined a very wise acrostic from the word MISTAKES:

M – Messages that give us feedback about life.

I –   Interruptions that should cause us to reflect and think.

S – Signposts that direct us to the right path.

T – Tests that push us toward greater maturity.

A – Awakenings that keep us in the game mentally.

K – Keys that we can use to unlock the next door of opportunity.

E – Explorations that let us journey where we’ve never been before.

S – Statements about our development and progress.

If and when we can begin to interpret our past failures or mistakes correctly, we are taking the first major step toward maturity.  It’s important that we take responsibility for our mistakes.  We need to confess our mistakes and ask forgiveness.  We need to forgive ourselves.  We need to put the anguish and/or heartache of the mistake behind us without forgetting the lesson. 

I pray each morning that God will lead me to make wise choices and to use good judgment throughout my day. When I submit myself to the Lord and allow Him full control of my daily steps, I have the confidence to do what I need to do in my walk. I also realize that He is not surprised when I make mistakes….He wants me to depend on Him as I strive to live in complete obedience.  

As F. Scott Fitzgerald said, “Never confuse a single mistake with a final mistake.”  Isn’t is cool that the Savior allows “Do Overs?” So another thought is that if God forgives us, we are directed to forgive others….and that means to continue to forgive others….

Matthew 18:22
Jesus answered, “I tell you, not seven times, but seventy-seven times.”

Be thankful for the grace and unending mercy of a forgiving and loving God who adores us so much that He sent His only Son to die for our mistakes! Don’t dismiss that sacrifice!

Remember Christ is the Teacher….we are His students!

 Students 

SUSIE MC

 

Leave a Reply

