Susie Mc

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Verse and Message (Tuesday, Sept 18, 2007) September 18, 2007

Filed under: Uncategorized — susiemc @ 5:24 pm

Psalm 51:11
Do not cast me from your presence or take your Holy Spirit from me.

 Silver Cross 

Romans 15:13
May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace as you trust in him, so that you may overflow with hope by the power of the Holy Spirit.

I received an email recently that inspired me to write this message.  The person shared with me that he had heard a sermon at his church the prior weekend, and that it really meant a lot to him.  I was curious of the content of the message, but he revealed to me that he didn’t really remember.  He couldn’t explain why the message was so profound to him. 

I believe this scenario has happened to all of us before.  It doesn’t mean that a sermon was boring; Many times a message delivered is anything but boring.  I believe that the delivery has nothing to do with the person delivering it or the content of the material.  I believe it has everything to do with the PRESENCE and POWER of the HOLY SPIRIT. 

I have known so many people to attend a church because of the popularity of the pastor or the skill of the pastor who communicates the message.  My pastor is one of the most anointed and gifted communicators of the Word I have ever known (Pastor Chris Hodges-Church of the Highlands). The key is the anointing of the individual sharing the Word and the Presence of God.  Whenever I invite someone to my worship home, I always pray that God will touch that person in some way during their worship experience, and that He will anoint each person they come in contact with….  It could be as simple as the person feeling welcome, or the energy of the worship, or it might possibly be anointing of the person sharing the message.  More-so, or at least in addition to all of these areas….the Presence of God is the most crucial component. 

There have been times I have written a message, and I was not feeling particularly gifted or creative at the moment.  Sometimes I feel as though my words are mixed up and/or jumbled in my mind as I type the keys on the keyboard.  The HEART of any message or any form of communication is most important.  And, the MEAT of a devotion or a particular sermon or message is in our Savior’s touch, it’s not our doing. 

Credit belongs completely to our Father.  He is the ONE who has to draw us to Him.  We cannot force anyone to absorb any particular detail in a sermon, in a spiritual experience, retreat, or written message…including the Bible. The Bible comes alive to us when we are READY to RECEIVE it….and God meets us exactly where we are on our journey.  It’s so cool….and complicated to comprehend, much less try to explain.

If you are praying for someone to find the Lord….  If you are praying for someone to hear from God…..   If you are praying for your spouse to understand you…..  If you are praying for restoration or refreshment….  If you are praying for healing and strength…. then it’s best to pray for God’s PRESENCE to be realized and for His LIGHT to shine so bright that it’s impossible to ignore. 

God’s presence and peace is available to all of us….if we will only ask for it.  He’s knocking on our hearts wherever we are in our lives.  He’s waiting, He’s listening, and He loves us more than we can ever imagine.  That my friends is what HE DESIRES TO BE COMMUNICATED.  So if you have ever known someone who is going through a difficult time and you cannot imagine how they are surviving….it is because of God’s PRESENCE and His PEACE that transcends all understanding.

SEEK HIS PRESENCE TODAY!

SOAK IN HIS LOVE AND POWER!

HE DOES NOT DISREGARD THE FERVENT PRAYERS OF HIS CHILDREN!

 Prayer 

SUSIE MC

 

Leave a Reply

