Susie Mc

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Verse and Message (Thursday, July 19, 2007) July 19, 2007

Filed under: Uncategorized — susiemc @ 2:48 pm

2 Corinthians 5:7
We live by faith, not by sight.

 Silver Cross 

Mark 4:41
They were terrified and asked each other, “Who is this? Even the wind and the waves obey him!”

A co-worker of mine, Pam Pogue, sent me an incredible article entitled “Floating Without Your Life Vest” by Virelle Kidder.  I was so moved by the story, I rewrote it as it pertains to my life.  I also incorporated some thoughts delivered in a message that author and motivational speaker John Maxwell shared at Church of the Highlands this past Sunday. 

Do you remember the first time you learned to float?  I do.  I was very young…around age three. My family belonged to Birmingham Eastside Swim Club located in South Roebuck of Birmingham.  Learning the art of swimming began when I jumped in the pool while my brother was competing in a swim team meet.  As my mom frantically jumped in after me, causing the meet to come to a complete halt, I was bewildered as to what all the commotion was about.  My faith didn’t allow me to be concerned about drowning, much less disrupting a competition.  At that point in my young mind, water seemed like a neat thing, until I recognized the fear my mother demonstrated.  Immediately, she scheduled me for swim lessons.  Eventually, at age ten, I obtained 2nd in the state in the butterfly stroke.  But….learning to float after the memorable pool incident was just the beginning of that victory. 

God wants me to have that same “childlike faith” in my walk today.  He wants me to just JUMP IN and trust Him, even though the world around me circles in chaos.

 Diving 

Letting God have control of our lives is like learning to float without a life vest.  Inch by inch we breathe in, and we breathe out.  It’s freeing and exciting!  But then some wave of fear overwhelms us, and we begin to sink.  What happened?…We simply take our eyes off of our Life Guard. 

 Lifeguard 

Life happens.  We float along with God in control…then we grab the reins.  With each new avenue, we aim to gain control again.  It’s kind of like touching bottom. We feel safe until we reach the deep end…..”Hey, God, are you there?”

Really, now, was God surprised that we meandered to the deep end without Him?  Absolutely not.  However, He wants us to depend on Him to take His lessons effectively so that we can be confident in His Spirit when the waves become fierce.  Therefore, we won’t get in over our head, or when we do we can be sure our Life Preserver is right there with us, and we are never ever alone.  Even though the waters can be treacherous, we sometimes forget that the Almighty of the Universe can handle our problems.  Taking responsibility to manage everything around us can be exhausting; I am a pro in that realm of madness…..but then I start splashing frantically! 

God doesn’t need our help! Most of us seem to think we have our own lives and everyone else’s lives arranged just perfectly. 

We try to do things without Him because, “God may not care what happens to me? or He might make me look foolish!” (I don’t need God’s help for that; I can look foolish effortlessly myself)…ha!  Imagine how Jesus’ disciples felt the night of the violent storm on the Sea of Galilee……Indeed Jesus proved a point…..He calmed the storm. His GRACE and STYLE were compelling then, and become even more profound when we dive in to know Him more.

“The reason you and I get scared when we think we’re going to drown is just the same as it was for the disciples; we have no idea who this Jesus is we’re dealing with.  Our idea of Him is way too small, too weak, and ill-informed.  The truth is, He is all life, love, and truth in one Being.  He is the One who came to lead us home in a very unexpected way–by overcoming far worse than a storm.”

 Thunder 

We are asked to be in complete submission to our Lord.  According to John Maxwell, submission means that we quit making suggestions in our prayer journal.  Sure we can call the shots, but that’s when we develop the “destination disease.”  We start analyzing every detail of our lives, especially our future….We tend to exaggerate our yesterdays, we overestimate our tomorrows allowing the concerns of the future to overwhelm us, and then we miss out on the NOW…because we simply underestimate the GIFT of TODAY. 

We must all remember that we haven’t arrived until we meet our Maker at the Summit in Heaven!  Our life is based on choices and decisions, and learning to swim intricately with focused strokes in this journey doesn’t have to be complicated!  We need to leave the anxiety of our perceived complicated lives to the Master who designed us and everything around us. If he knows the number of hairs on our heads, I am certain He is capable of taking care of our problems. Pastor Chris Hodges has recommended that we stop telling God how BIG our PROBLEMS are.  Instead…we should tell our PROBLEMS how BIG our GOD is!!

So the next time you are floating along and are tempted to panic because you think you are sinking….stop looking below into the abyss….start looking at the SON above.  Keep looking up……forget fear…….and succeed in the Savior!

SWIMMING WITH THE SAVIOR EQUALS SUCCESS!

 Jesus Fish 

EVEN THE WIND OBEYS HIS COMMAND!

THE DESTINATION WON’T BE A DISASTER…

AS LONG AS WE FLOAT WITH PURPOSE TOWARD THE PRIZE!

 In The Pool 

SUSIE MC

 

One Response to “Verse and Message (Thursday, July 19, 2007)”

  1. Marion Says:

    Your verse/message hit home today. I too struggle with leading the direction in my life and prayer life. Instead I should turn things over completely to my Lord and Savior. Recently I was reading in the Psalms, in particular Psalm 32:8 “I will instruct you and teach you in the way you should go; I will counsel you and watch over you”. Your message reminded me of this scripture. What a wonderful God we have! Thanks for your great message!


Leave a Reply

